## 2017-J335

Senate Resolution No. 335

**BY: Senator BONACIC** 

CONGRATULATING the SUNY Delhi Men's Cross Country Team and Coach Robb Munro upon the occasion of capturing the 2016 USCAA Cross Country National Championships on November 11, 2016

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in college sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the young adults of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of collegiate athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the SUNY Delhi Men's Cross Country Team and Coach Robb Munro upon the occasion of capturing the 2016 USCAA Cross Country National Championships in Virginia Beach, Virginia; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Broncos edged out reigning National Champions Berea College with an outstanding team performance with an average time of 26:27 in the 8K race; and WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of green, white and gold, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Broncos throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as cross country, which demands speed and agility, Coach Robb Munro has worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Coach Robb Munro and all of the outstanding athletes on the SUNY Delhi Men's Cross Country Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the SUNY Delhi Cross Country Team: Kobie Lane, Nick Arnecke, Andrew Davis, Connor Oakman, Jon Messler, Matt Keyes, Joe LaRegina, Kevin Malen, Ted Oster, Mathew Robinson, Matt Scavetta, Jack Hillenbrand, Ryan Roosa and Lucas Reilly; and Coach Robb Munro on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the SUNY Delhi Cross Country Team and Coach Robb Munro.