2017-K92

Assembly Resolution No. 92

BY: M. of A. Dilan

HONORING the Coalition for Community Advancement:

Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills upon the
occasion of its designation as the recipient of the
Neighborhood Activist Award by the Cypress Hills
Local Development Corporation on February 16, 2017

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize that the quality and character of life in the communities across New York State are reflective of the concerned and dedicated efforts of those organizations which would devote themselves to the welfare of the community and its citizenry; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Coalition for Community Advancement: Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills upon the occasion of its designation as the recipient of the Neighborhood Activist Award by the Cypress Hills Local Development Corporation, to be feted at its Annual Celebration of Community Progress on Thursday, February 16, 2017, at the Cypress Hills-Fulton Street Senior Center in Brooklyn, New York; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1983, the Cypress Hills Local Development Corporation (CHLDC) is a not-for-profit community organization serving 8,000 residents a year through a comprehensive array of community

service programs and neighborhood development projects; and

WHEREAS, Each year at its Annual Meeting and Celebration of Community Progress, the CHLDC proudly pays tribute to those who have supported the Corporation and have helped to further its mission and efforts; and

WHEREAS, This year, the Coalition for Community Advancement:

Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills received this prestigious award for its dedicated working in tackling a tough community problem, beautify the neighborhood, and fight for justice; and

WHEREAS, The Coalition for Community Advancement: Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills is a coalition of community and civic organizations, small businesses, houses of worship and local citizens working together to advocate for affordable housing, new and good jobs, and a voice in the future of its neighborhood; and

WHEREAS, Over the past two years, the Coalition for Community
Advancement: Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills has fought a
principled and passionate campaign to influence the City of New York's
rezoning plan, otherwise known as the East New York Plan; and

WHEREAS, The Coalition for Community Advancement: Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills has dedicated thousands of volunteer hours to engage the community throughout the rezoning process by testifying at public hearings, meeting with government and elected officials, speaking to the media, and protesting, petitioning and demonstrating when needed; and

WHEREAS, This vital group's multifaceted approach to advocacy

centers around the Coalition for Community Advancement: Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills core values and platform: building deeply affordable housing, preventing displacement, preserving existing affordable housing, holding the City accountable to any promises made, saving the manufacturing sector in the rezoning area and making sure enough schools and community facilities are built for new and existing residents; and

WHEREAS, Through their tireless efforts, the Coalition has created an Alternative Plan for the rezoning which contained many policy positions and resources adopted in the final rezoning; some of their successes include a \$12 million basement-apartment legalization fund, additional sites for affordable housing construction and lower affordability on public sites, a Workforce1 Center, resources for tenant legal services and commercial revitalization and set asides for discounted commercial rents in new mixed-use buildings; and

WHEREAS, The success of the Coalition for Community Advancement:
Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills is in direct correlation to the
efforts of its steering committee: Darma Diaz, Donna Stone, Brother Paul
Muhammed, Bishop David Benke, Deacon Jose Pinedo, Ana Aguierre, Roy
Frias, Catherine Greene, Farrah Lafontant, Michael Keller, Robert
Santiago, Gail Davis and Bill Wilkins, as well as Michelle Neugebauer,
whose involvement is, and always has been, characterized by an
impressive commitment, an unbridled enthusiasm, and an uncompromising
standard of excellence in all endeavors; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when organizations of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the Coalition for Community Advancement: Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills upon the occasion of its designation as the recipient of the Neighborhood Activist Award by the Cypress Hills Local Development Corporation; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Coalition for Community Advancement: Progress for East New York/Cypress Hills.