2017-K147

Assembly Resolution No. 147

BY: M. of A. D'Urso

CONGRATULATING the Pawling Squirts Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the 46th Annual Kittredge Hockey Tournament

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Pawling Squirts Hockey Team are the 46th Annual Kittredge Hockey Tournament Champions; the Squirts defeated the Berkshire Bruin Majors in a 6-0 victory to capture the Championship; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach William Geiger, Assistant Coaches William Howard and Kevin Taylor, and Student Coach Luke Geiger, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 4-0 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Pawling Squirts Hockey Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the Championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Coach William Geiger and his coaching team have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach William Geiger and the Pawling Squirts Hockey Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Pawling Squirts Hockey Team: Mason Carman, Gunnar Lavoie, Jake Geiger, Noah Lavoie, Matthew Howard, Cole Geiger, Nolan Drnek, Lincoln Taylor, Kai Wilson, Avery Fixman, Matteo Sanders and Luca Sanders; and Coach William Geiger, Assistant Coaches William Howard and Kevin Taylor, and Student Coach Luke Geiger on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Pawling Squirts Hockey Team and to Coach William Geiger and his coaching team.