Senate Resolution No. 1273

BY: Senator TEDISCO

CONGRATULATING the Union College Men's Basketball Team and Head Coach Chris Murphy upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 Liberty League Men's Basketball Championship on February 25, 2017

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to outstanding athletes who have distinguished themselves through their exceptional performance, attaining unprecedented success and the highest level of personal achievement; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Union College Men's Basketball Team and Head Coach Chris Murphy upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 Liberty League Men's Basketball Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Dutchmen defeated Hobart College at the Viniar Athletic Center in a 71-67 victory to capture the Championship; and

WHEREAS, This monumental win lifted the Union College Men's Basketball Team to its first league championship since February 26, 2005, when current Head Coach Chris Murphy was both a starter and junior guard; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of garnet, family,

friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Dutchmen throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 17-11 overall record; and

WHEREAS, After winning the Championship, the Union College Men's Basketball Team received an automatic bid to compete in its fourth NCAA Division III Championships on Friday, March 3, 2017; the Dutchmen advanced to the second round of the Tournament with an 89-83 victory over Wesleyan University at The Palestra at the University of Rochester; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as basketball, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Chris Murphy and his expert coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Chris Murphy and Assistant Coach Nick Ciresi and all of the outstanding athletes on the Union College Men's Basketball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Union College Men's Basketball Team: Zachary Bouton, Benjamin Lee, Kevin Weckworth, Aaron Gordon, Shiraz Mumtaz, Greg King, Mike Palleschi, Deshon Burgess, Garrett Johnson, Kevin McNoble, Wade McNamara, Matt Liquori, Martynas Simanavicius, Brendan Laing, Kevin Jefferson, Weston Hannon-Bogosh, and Giuseppe de

Spuches; Head Coach Chris Murphy; and Assistant Coach Nick Ciresi upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 Liberty League Men's Basketball Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Union College Men's Basketball Team, Head Coach Chris Murphy, and Assistant Coach Nick Ciresi.