2017-J1345

Senate Resolution No. 1345

BY: Senator DEFRANCISCO

CONGRATULATING the Westhill Boys Varsity

Basketball Team upon the occasion of winning the

2017 Class B New York State Public High School

Athletic Association Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through rigorous practice, solid teamwork, and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young people within our communities, who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought great pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, promoting a desire for success, and by developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to recognize and congratulate the Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team upon the occasion of winning the 2017 Class B New York State Public High

School Athletic Association Championship (NYSPHAA) by defeating Canton High School at the Floyd Maines Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton, New York, on Saturday, March 18, 2017; and

WHEREAS, At the start of the New York State Class B Basketball
Championship game, the Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team came out on
fire, hitting four 3-pointers in the first quarter and seven 3-pointers
in the first half; and

WHEREAS, The Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team continued to sink 3-pointers and maintain a sizeable lead in the second half of the game, eventually beating Canton with a final score of 80-62 to win the New York State Class B Championship; and

WHEREAS, For the Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team, this latest State title marks the fifth NYSPHAA championship overall, and the third State championship in just the last four years; and

WHEREAS, The Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team finished its impressive 2016-2017 season with an overall record of 25-1; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the outstanding players of the Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team proved to be an unbeatable combination of talents and determination throughout their near perfect season, reflecting favorably on their high school and the entire Westhill Central School District; and

WHEREAS, The impressive athletic talent displayed by the Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Kevin King; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball 2016-2017

season, the team was loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, friends and fans throughout the entire community; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team rallied behind one another in establishing a brotherhood of athletes and sportsmanship to demonstrate that these team players are second to none; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team: EJ Zawadzki, Braeden Elmer, Corey Frassica, Jordan Marcano, Sean Dadey, Owen Matukas, John Geer, Chris Holt, Antonio Scrimale, Michael Laszlo, Zechariah Brown, Kameren Jackson, and Holden Carroll, and Head Coach Kevin King on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Westhill Boys Varsity Basketball Team and Head Coach Kevin King.