## 2017-J1774

Senate Resolution No. 1774

**BY: Senator YOUNG** 

CONGRATULATING the Dunkirk-Fredonia Steelers upon the occasion of winning the 2017 New York State High School Club Hockey Championship

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to recognize those young people within our community who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Dunkirk-Fredonia Steelers upon the occasion of winning the 2017 New York High School Club Hockey Championship; and

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can only be achieved through strenuous practice, team play, and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, The Dunkirk-Fredonia Steelers is comprised of high school athletes from Dunkirk, Fredonia and Silver Creek Schools; these schools represent the Northern Chautauqua County Youth Hockey Association; and

WHEREAS, The Dunkirk-Fredonia Steelers earned their trip to the State Championship by beating the Olean Eagles in a best of three series, leading them to their second State Championship game in back-to-back years; and

WHEREAS, In the finals, the Dunkirk-Fredonia Steelers faced the same opponent who they defeated to become State Champions in 2016, the Iroquois Chiefs; in an impressive show of talent, they defeated the Iroquois Chiefs, 2-1; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the dedication and efforts of Head Coach Dr. Jay Bishop, Assistant Coaches, Jeffrey Meredith, Mark Taylor, Keith Mages, Ron Rybak, and Team Manager, Shannon Thompson; and

WHEREAS, The Dunkirk-Fredonia Steelers Head Coach Dr. Jay Bishop was named the Western New York High School Coach of the Year, after coaching for 10 years, with two trips to Super Sunday, and two State Championships; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the team's overall outstanding record, the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends, and the entire community; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be a tremendous combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their schools; and

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Dunkirk-Fredonia Steelers: Dawson Rafan, Nolan Mages, Christian Michalski, Alex Venn, Taylor Mattoon, Stephen

Aldrich, Michael Meredith, Austin Venn, Cole Tippens, Carter D'Agostino, Nicolas Novelli, Brandon Prentiss, Michael Persch, Zachary Rybak, Austin Lewis, Zachary Korzeniewski, Nicholas Pchelka, Jackson Taylor, Ryan Thompson, Christopher Michalski, Christopher Buchanan, Jarrett Parks, and Gabriel Persch; Head Coach Dr. Jay Bishop, Assistant Coaches Jeff Meredith, Mark Taylor, Keith Mages, Ron Rybak, and Team Manager Shannon Thompson on their outstanding victory in their second consecutive State Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted the members of the Dunkirk-Fredonia Steelers, Head Coach Dr. Jay Bishop, Assistant Coaches Jeff Meredith, Mark Taylor, Keith Mages, Ron Rybak, and Team Manager Shannon Thompson.