2017-K302

Assembly Resolution No. 302

BY: M. of A. Morelle

CONGRATULATING the Irondequoit Boys Basketball

Team and Head Coach Chris Cardon upon the occasion
of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class A Boys Basketball

Championship

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Irondequoit Boys Basketball Team and Head Coach Chris Cardon upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class A Boys Basketball Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Eagles defeated Our Lady of Lourdes High School in a 54-43 victory to win their first Championship on Sunday, March 19, 2017, at the Floyd L. Maines Arena in Binghamton, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of blue and gold,

family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Eagles throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 25-2 overall record; and

WHEREAS, The game of basketball demands athletic prowess, speed and agility; Head Coach Chris Cardon and Assistant Coach Dan Foley worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Chris Cardon and all of the outstanding athletes on the Irondequoit High School Boys Basketball Team have clearly displayed dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Irondequoit High School Boys Basketball Team: Tysean Sizer, Chris VanKerkhove, Gerald Drumgoole, Cohn Shafer, Kaelen Kanealey, Fredrick June, Tanner Pioch, Robert Diaz-Judson, Josh Stenglein, William Porter, Alex Goldsberry. Devyn Walker, Jeremiah Zitz, Zach Stenglein, and Jake Norwood; Head Coach Chris Cardon; and Assistant Coach Dan Foley upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class A Boys Basketball Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Irondequoit High School Boys Basketball Team, Head Coach Chris Cardon, and Assistant Coach Dan Foley.