## 2017-J2127

Senate Resolution No. 2127

**BY: Senator PHILLIPS** 

HONORING 42 Long Island Teenagers upon their designation as recipients of the Good Deed Award by the National Committee for the Furtherance of Jewish Education on Long Island on May 15, 2017

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young people within the great Empire State who have made strong contributions to their communities and who serve as role models for their peers; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor 42 Long Island Teenagers upon their designation as recipients of the Good Deed Award by the National Committee for the Furtherance of Jewish Education on Long Island to be celebrated at its Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 15, 2017, at Congregation Beth Sholom Chabad in Mineola, New York; and

WHEREAS, Each exceptional teenager is receiving this prestigious award for their outstanding example of good deeds, infinite kindness and their pioneering activity in the transmission of both value and identity; and

WHEREAS, The National Committee for Furtherance of Jewish Education

(NCFJE) of Nassau County is a non-profit social service and educational organization, which is respected for its far reaching endeavors on behalf of its community; and

WHEREAS, For the past 24 years, the NCFJE Good Deed Awards for Long Island Teenagers has set the agenda and produced measurable results to initiate change; instead of focusing on the bad news surrounding many members of the younger generation, this vital organization strives to identify the good in each and every teenager, and help the community focus on their positive and admirable attributes; and

WHEREAS, This year's honorees include: Sarah Alaimo, Jayvian Allen, Colette Brancaccio, Stephanie Buchheim, Chris Caluori, Stephen Caluori, Martin Clarke, Tian Colby, Analisa Coppa, Ranata Davi, Antonia Gambino, Francesca Gambino, Nirel Gidanian, Jakob Gilbert, Lianna Golden, Jessica Goldstein, Evan Greif, Evan Jaslow, Lauren Kalenka, Kristen Kavanagh, Gretchen Keller, Joshua Kent, Shermeen Khan, Haley Liebman, Alcina Lima, Caroline Longworth, Fatemah Makadum, Gianna Monaco, Conor O'Neill, Victoria Palone, Ziya Patel, Harry Penson, Mary Penson, Michael Reed, Natalia Roberts, Colin Robinson, Jessica Rosen, Seth Rosen, Sabrina Sayed, Nathaniel Vaduthala, Azaria Vargas, and Elana Wilk; and

WHEREAS, Each recipient of the Good Deed Award is a credit to their family, their school, their community, their State and their Nation, and no doubt their futures will be filled with many accomplishments of equal importance; and

WHEREAS, With their sense of civic duty and their commitment to others, these 42 teenagers represent the best development of the

potential which is inherent in our most precious resource, our youth; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor 42 Long Island Teenagers upon their designation as recipients of the Good Deed Award by the National Committee for the Furtherance of Jewish Education on Long Island; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned honorees.