2017-J2177

Senate Resolution No. 2177

BY: Senator FLANAGAN

HONORING the distinguished veterans from the State of New York upon the occasion of their induction into the New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame to be celebrated on May 16, 2017

WHEREAS, Members of the Armed Services from the State of New York, who have served so valiantly and honorably in wars in which this country's freedom was at stake, as well as in the preservation of peace in peacetime, deserve a special salute from this Legislative Body; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with long-standing tradition, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor the distinguished veterans from the State of New York upon the occasion of their induction into the New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame to be celebrated on May 16, 2017; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame inductees are members of any branch of the United States Armed Forces which include Army, Navy, Coast Guard, Air Force, and Marine Corps; these exceptional men and women are chosen for this prestigious honor based on either service in combat or notable work performed after discharge from the service; and

WHEREAS, The 2017 inductees include: Abraham Althaibani, Ismile

Althaibani, Ed Babor, Charles E. Bilbrey, Jr., Mike Bowen, June Brown McNiven, Michael Christiano, Martin C. Connor, Silviu Dan, Sr., Michael De Vito, Jr., Harold Dworetzky, Harold J. Enstice, Sal Famularo, Derek J. Farley, Edwin Feliciano, Jr., Luz M. Fernandez-Aviles, Dennis Fink, Muriel O. Frazier, Edwin L. Garris, Joseph Germano, George Godfrey, John Edward Howlett, Henderson Leroy Hutchinson, William J. Larkin, Jr., Dr. John Long, Donald MacIver, Hariton Marachilian, William H. McDonald, Glennie Millard, Morris Miller, Patrick W. Miller, Maureen Morgan, Kenneth Murphy, John Nardolillo, Joseph Nardolillo, Peter Nardolillo, William Nardolillo, Stephen Neftleberg, Richard A. Olson, Brian R. Page, Martina Parauda (VA Hospital), Betty Perkins-Carpenter, Reginald Peterson, John Pieprzak, Ralph Prescuitti, Alice Psirakis Diacosavvas, George Rodriguez, Dave Rogers, Anthony Salimbene, Vincent James Scali, Gary Schacher, Philip Schatzle, Armando Seccurra, Arthur Seidman, Alice R. Simpson, Scotty Smiley, Dr. Tom Smith, Dennis Staley, Dr. W. Barton Van Slyke, Donald R. Waful, Jerry White, Sr., and Johnnie H. Williams, Jr.; and

WHEREAS, The banner of freedom will always wave over our beloved New York and all of America, the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave; and

WHEREAS, The freedoms and security we cherish as Americans comes at a very high price for those serving in the military in times of conflict; it is fitting and proper that we who are the beneficiaries of those who risk their lives, must never forget the courage with which these men and women served their country; and

WHEREAS, Our Nation's veterans deserve to be recognized, commended and thanked by the people of the State of New York for their service and for their dedication to their communities, their State and their Nation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the distinguished veterans from the State of New York upon the occasion of their induction into the New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame to be celebrated on May 16, 2017; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the 2017 inductees.