2017-J2245

Senate Resolution No. 2245

BY: Senator DEFRANCISCO

CONGRATULATING the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning its 10th National Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved through strenuous practice, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young people within the State of New York who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their college and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and by developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team won its 10th National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) championship on Sunday, May 14, 2017, by beating No. 3 seed Howard Community College by a 15-14 score at Murphy Field on the OCC campus; and

WHEREAS, Following the game, Onondaga Community College Men's

Lacrosse Head Coach Chuck Wilbur was named NJCAA Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team wrapped up its 2017 season with 12 double-digit victories, including a resounding national semifinal win over Nassau Community College; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team can now be proud of 10 national titles, the second all-time among junior colleges; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Onondaga Community
College Men's Lacrosse Team is due in great part to the skilled and
supportive efforts of Head Coach Chuck Wilbur and Assistant Coaches Mike
Villano, Joe Villano, Chris Brim, Nick Gatto, and Shaun Church; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the season, players on the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team were loyally and enthusiastically supported by their family, friends and the Central New York community at large; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team rallied behind one another in establishing a brotherhood of athletic ability, good sportsmanship and honor, while demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the Onondaga Community

College Men's Lacrosse Team proved to be an unbeatable combination of

talents, contributing to the spirit of excellence that is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team: Nick Koelmel, Jason Tebo, Nick Sturick, Sean Lattimore, Peter Kwas, Larson Sundown, Jake McNabb, Eddie Paredes, Drey Martin, Brendon Closs, Colton Thew, Zach Pierce, Daquan Rockett, Koichi Nakamura, Zack Blake, Joe Rosaschi, PJ Delpha, Nick Myers, Evan Schumacher, Matt Cavanaugh, Jake Anderson, Brendan Duggan, Erik Badger, Brian Cunningham, Austin Robinson, Brandon O'Brien, Zach Pinney, Zach Lorenz, Ty Cadeau, Nathan Sturick, Clayon Messmer, Will Malerk, Mike Brandow, Thakwi Cross, Russ Oakes, Cade Talbert, Pete Maxwell, Michael Carpenter, Jacob Corcoran, Terrance Haggerty, Austin Staats, Sakohawi Kirby, James Sexton, Mike McNaney, Riley Smith, Brad Simoncelli, Nate Martina, Kyle Leeming, Anthony Kennin, and Rob Pollock on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members and coaches of the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team.