2017-J2247

Senate Resolution No. 2247

BY: Senator JACOBS

CONGRATULATING the Kenmore West High School Girls
Varsity Basketball Team and Coach Jeffrey Martin
upon the occasion of winning the Brian Hanson
Memorial Sportsmanship Award

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Kenmore West High School Girls Varsity Basketball Team and Coach Jeffrey Martin upon the occasion of winning the Brian Hanson Memorial Sportsmanship Award by the Western New York Girls Basketball Officials Organization; and

WHEREAS, This auspicious award is named in memory of the late Brian Hanson, a longtime girls basketball official, and awarded to a Western

New York team that exhibits the best sportsmanship throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, The Kenmore West High School Girls Varsity Basketball Team has enjoyed enormous success in recent years, winning back-to-back Niagara Frontier League (NFL) titles during the 2014-2015 and 2015-2016 seasons; this year, the team was selected out of 104 girls basketball programs in Western New York to be distinguished for its outstanding sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, Coach Jeffrey Martin and all of the outstanding athletes on the Kenmore West High School Varsity Basketball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Kenmore West High School Girls Varsity Basketball Team: Grace Ferguson, Jasmine Geis, Maddie Green, Emma Pfol, Jessica Phillips, Anna Quinlan, Rachel Sefried, Abby Borkowski, Tiesha Rivera, Sarah Bessinger, Minya Brown, Maya Eubanks, Alexis Rivera and Jenna Romano; and Head Coach Jeffrey Martin upon the occasion of winning the Brian Hanson Memorial Sportsmanship Award; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Kenmore West High School Girls Varsity Basketball Team and Head Coach Jeffrey Martin.