2017-J2260

Senate Resolution No. 2260

BY: Senator BONACIC

COMMENDING the Valedictorians, Salutatorians and Honored Students of the 42nd Senate District, in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments, at a celebration to be held at the State Capitol on June 8, 2017

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to act in accord with its long-standing traditions, to honor the youth of today -- the leaders of tomorrow -- whose character and achievements exemplify the ideals and values cherished by this great State and Nation; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to recognize and commend the high achievements of these dedicated students in the 42nd Senate District on the occasion of a special celebratory visit to the State Capitol in Albany, New York on Thursday, June 8, 2017; at this time the Valedictorians, Salutatorians and Honored Students who have been selected by their school leadership for outstanding community service will receive special recognition from the Senate in the Senate Chamber; lunch will be served on the 3rd Floor Terrace of the Legislative Office Building, followed by a tour of the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, These Valedictorians, Salutatorians and Honored Students represent the best of developed potential inherent in our most precious

resource, our youth; their achievements have brought enduring honor to their families and communities and should be recognized and saluted; and

WHEREAS, The Valedictorians who are being commended today for their outstanding academic performances and exemplary achievements include: Emily Hadley, Jewel Alston, Samantha Laput, Zachary Alexander, Olav Peterson Langeland, Arik Mozejko, Yunji Shi, Leanna Zilles, Khristopher DiBartolo, Joseph Colon, Bridget Wiley, Parth Patel, Avraham Madnick, Joshua Berry, Caleb Heuvel-Horwitz, Chase Molinari, Rachel Behrent, Katherine Mazur, Mya Landers, Olivia Spriggens, Linzy Dineen, Jared Webler, Jennifer Prial, and Krystina Braid; and

WHEREAS, The Salutatorians who are being commended today for their outstanding academic performances and exemplary achievements include: Karlye Heavey, Tyler Shields, Alyssa McGrail, Victoria Garritt, Pu Zheng, Jeremy Dedel, Eva Henderson, Maria Symanski, Jeremy Ryan Johaneman, Timothy Niper, Erin Clifford, Jillian McEneaney, Lillie Carnell, Stephanie Stewart-Hill, Jessica Palmeri, Mollie Engle, Aidan Sensiba, Kacie Allison, Josephine Rose, Hannah Wagner, Thomas Nafash, and Abigail Ilizirov; and

WHEREAS, The Honored Students who are being commended today and who have been selected by their school leadership for outstanding school or community service include: Hannah Morley, Brady Gales, Lynzee Kelty, Nadine Cafaro, Brittany Leventoff, Kimberly Pokstis, Gaetano Fontana, Dakota Rogers, Taylor Parks, Mia DiMaio, Kyle Meoli, Elizabeth Kuehn, Jackson Haberli, Ryan Castle, and Nicholas Underwood; and

WHEREAS, These Valedictorians, Salutatorians and Honored Students may now stand with pride as they assess their achievements, experience the satisfaction of their labors and the joy of their accomplishments, eager to face the new experiences of a challenging world; now,

therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the Valedictorians, Salutatorians and Honored Students of the 42nd Senate District, in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments at a celebration to be held at the State Capitol on June 8, 2017; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned Valedictorians, Salutatorians and Honored Students.