2017-K540

Assembly Resolution No. 540

BY: M. of A. Miller B

CONGRATULATING the New Hartford Marching Spartans upon the occasion of capturing First Place in the New York State Field Band Conference Championship, Small 1 Division

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and commend those dedicated and distinguished teams that are committed to the pursuit of excellence and that bring great pride to the citizens of New York State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the New Hartford Marching Spartans upon the occasion of capturing First Place at the New York State Field Band Conference Championship, Small 1 Division; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Field Band Conference, Inc. was formed on February 6, 1972 for the purpose of regulating and scheduling field band events in New York State, and for the enhancement of school field band competitions; and

WHEREAS, The competition included more than 50 high schools across three different states; each band performed a seven to ten minute show for a panel of 10 judges, and was evaluated on its musical and visual

presentation; and

WHEREAS, In preparation for the state competition, members of the New Hartford Marching Spartans rehearsed for months, logging countless hours of practice to learn new music charts and perfect their skills; and

WHEREAS, When it was time to perform, each and every member of the New Hartford Marching Spartans had in mind the goal of representing themselves, their school and their community by performing with the highest standard of excellence; and

WHEREAS, With a score of 90.9, the New Hartford Marching Spartans delivered their best performance of the season during this remarkable competition; and

WHEREAS, It is a remarkable achievement to win first prize in a state competition against eight other teams throughout the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, No marching band can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster; such was the case for the 2016 New Hartford Marching Spartans, whose members include: Margaret Benson, Mia Eisenhut, Kendall Evans, Kara Kopyt, Katheryn Nerber, Emily Spaeth, Aiden West, Madison Winfield, Yu Shan "Sammy" Chen, Joshua Frisbee, Eva Fuess, Riley Fukes, Quinn Lawless, Lucy Liu, Bren Lott, Allison Moger, Theo Norton, Ryan Paquette, Emma Welch, Samantha Wilder, Leon Zong, Nicholas Athari, Hannah Benson, Ashley Giaccio, Hannah Helmer, Sara Hinman, Madison Holmes, Sachin Johri, Alyse Lisi, Charmy Rani, Olivia

Borrill, Abigail Cahill, Matthew Cioni, Maggie Clive, Dylan Evans, Jillian Jones, Hannah Klockowski, Sydney Lambert, Joe LaPaglia, Jacob Lingley, Danielle Luvera, Heath Miller, Katie M. Nelson, Sophia Norton,
Nate Oczkowski, Thomas Skinner, Mari Sosnowski, Michael Stappenbeck,
Haley Wagner, Mama Akuoko, Joe Alberico, Ashley Belmont, Sarah Benson,
Zoe Bornes, Justin Cushman, Jesse Doan, William Eisenhut, Cassidy
Fenton, Kimberly Fountain, Haley Franchell, Laurel Frisbee, Chase
Funkhouser, Kaitlin Liu, Alexis Manore, Emma Moger, Jeremiah Murray,
Louisa Pandolfo, Keelen Paquette, Isabella Saggese, Evan Schmidt, Ayla
Schnier, Abigail Thrasher, Adam Turnbull, Tori Wadsworth, Melissa
Abraham, Nathaniel Adair, Mary Aiello, James Belcher, Gregory Bello,
Nathan Benjamin, Emma Clive, Marc Gabriel, Jordyn Gardinier, James
Hinman, Noelle Horth, Connor Lawless, Matthew Lubey, Ryan Mammone,
Lizzie Nelson, Sean Saville, Elizabeth Schaeffer, Shannon Stappenbeck,
Jessica Taylor, Meradith Thayer, Ryan Torchia, Abigail Weaver, Royce
Weber-Pierson and Brandon Wilbur; and

WHEREAS, The New Hartford Marching Spartan's achievements stand as a proud testament to the leadership of Band Director Marty Hollister, the hard work of its members and the dedication of its parents, teachers, administration and community-at-large, illustrating the spirit of excellence and achievement which is the New Hartford Marching Spartan's hallmark and tradition; and

WHEREAS, Members of the New Hartford Marching Spartans, individually and collectively, exhibited competence, skill and good sportsmanship, while demonstrating they have an outstanding combination of talent and character; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the New Hartford Marching Spartans upon the occasion of capturing First Place in the Small School Class 1 at the State Field Band Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Marty Hollister, Director of the New Hartford Marching Spartans.