Senate Resolution No. 2878

BY: Senator LITTLE

CONGRATULATING the Fort Ann High School Varsity Baseball Team and Coach Dane Clark upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class D Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Fort Ann High School Varsity Baseball Team and Coach Dane Clark upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class D Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Cardinals defeated North Collins High School on Saturday, June 10, 2017, at Binghamton University in a 5-4 victory to win the Championship; it is Fort Ann's third state championship since 2010, and its fifth overall; and WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of red and white, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Cardinals throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 20-2 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as baseball, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Dane Clark and his expert coaching staff, Assistant Coaches Kevin Mattison and Rock Chadwick, worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Coach Dane Clark and all of the outstanding athletes on the Fort Ann High School Varsity Baseball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Fort Ann High School Varsity Baseball Team: Adam Winchell, Patrick Ward, Jon Allen, Luke Loso, Hunter Saville, Jake Beber, Nick Strainer, Garrett Bailey, Sawyer Lunt, Tyler Mattison, Brendan Wright, Dylan Frost, Jeremy Johnson, Andrew Strainer and Jack Dornan; Head Coach Dane Clark; and Assistant Coaches Kevin Mattison and Rock Chadwick on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Fort Ann High School Varsity Baseball Team, Head Coach Dane Clark, Assistant Coaches Kevin Mattison and Rock Chadwick, Scorekeeper Tim Gleason, and Managers Jake Lunt and Riley Barnes.