Senate Resolution No. 2949

BY: Senator DEFRANCISCO

CONGRATULATING the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class D Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young individuals within our community, who by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought great pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class D Championship; and WHEREAS, On June 10, 2017, at the SUNY Cortland Stadium Complex in Cortland, New York, the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team faced off against Bronxville High School, taking home the NYSPHSAA Class D Championship with a 12-11 double overtime victory; the nail-biting win secured the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team's fourth state title since 2005 and its second over the last four years; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the outstanding players of the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team proved to be a terrific combination of talent, posting a spectacular overall record of 18-4; and

WHEREAS, No team can succeed without talent throughout its entire roster, as is the case with the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team of Emily Baldwin, Riley Brogan, Christiana Ciaccio, Olivia Dobrovosky, Grace Dower, Emma Goodell, Taylor Hill, Abby Kuhns, Grace Kush, Sophie Kush, Abbey Logan, Mae McGlynn, Mary McNeil, Olivia Navaroli, Olivia Nye, Jessica Patalino, Rachel Pinney, Kyla Sears, Mikaela Terhune, Alison Weiss, and Gaby Welch; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the entire season, the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team demonstrated strong play, a shining defense, and a fast recovery of ground balls; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Bridget Marquardt and Assistant Coaches Katie Rozak and Mark Fietta who are skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Marquardt and Assistant Coaches Rozak and Fietta did a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring members of the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team toward their goals; now, RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class D Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned players and coaches of the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team.