2017-J2972

Senate Resolution No. 2972

BY: Senator MURPHY

HONORING the Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse Team

WHEREAS, The State of New York takes great pride in acknowledging the successes of its student athletes; and

WHEREAS, The Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse team had a most impressive season in 2017; and

WHEREAS, The Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse team won the coveted Murphy Cup, named after the late Charlie Murphy, who was instrumental in the formation of the lacrosse program, on May 6, 2017 with a 12-3 win over Lakeland/Panas; and

WHEREAS, The Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse team also won the prestigious Turnbull Cup, named for beloved former coach Jim Turnbull, with an 11-6 win over Wilton on May 9, 2017; and

WHEREAS, The Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse team also earned the Section 1 Class B title, defeating John Jay High School 14-6 at Mahopac High School on May 26, 2017; and

WHEREAS, That was the school's 40th sectional title in the lacrosse program's history; and

WHEREAS, The Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse team Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse team is led by Head Coach Sean Carney, Assistant Coaches Rob Doerr, Joe Colarusso, Dave Graham, and Mitch Lieberman, and Managers Julia Ferone, Jenna Hurlburt, Olivia Resko, Eleanna Bowen, and Taryn Tropea; and

WHEREAS, The roster consists of Captains Jose Boyer, Kyle Casey,
Brett Makar, Dom Cioffi, and Justin Cavallo, as well as Brandon
Meyreles, Michael Salcido, Jamison Embury, Louis Ragusa, Dan O'Meara,
Conor Koeisch, Tyler Cunnington, Brendan Williams, Justin Comerford,
Steven Veteri, Hunter Embury, Anthony Molea, Chris Rabasco, Christian
Torres, Shane Dahike, Gio Santini, Christopher Perrino, Anthony
Altimari, Ciaran Colgan, Matt Concialdi, Richard Giannasca, Keegan
Doller, Thomas Cane, Connor Lampersberger, Reese Andrews, Max Costello,
Michael Broder, Jesse Maltzman, and Matt Abbate; and

WHEREAS, The Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse team has inspired teams across New York State with its teamwork, sportsmanship, and athletic ability; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse team upon a very successful season; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Yorktown Varsity Boys Lacrosse team.