2017-J3021

Senate Resolution No. 3021

BY: Senator FLANAGAN

CONGRATULATING the Ward Melville High School Boys' Varsity Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class A Lacrosse Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Ward Melville Boys' Varsity Lacrosse Team are the New York State Class A Boys' Lacrosse State Champions; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Jay Negus, who, with his first State Championship, is respected by his athletes for the inspiration and dedication he instilled; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 20-2 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family,

fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Ward Melville Boys' Varsity Lacrosse Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, The team's perseverance during the championship game shined as they came back and scored four unanswered goals in the last minute of the game to force overtime, when the game winning goal was scored; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Head Coach Jay Negus, Coach Chris Muscarella, and Coach Chris Murphy, and the 51 outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Ward Melville Team; its members, Brandon Aviles, Arthur Berry, Aidan Brazier, Brandon Cajigas, Perry Cassidy, Cole Chamberlain, Frank Ciniglio, Matthew Cirrone, Dominick Cosentino, Connor Cunningham, Liam Davenport, Lucas Flynn, Andrew Fogarty, Michael Giaquinto, Max Gironda, Matthew Grillo, Zachary Hobbes, Owen Kelly, Noah Kepes, Colin Krieg, Dylan Krieg, Joseph LaRosa, Kevin Leonard, Andrew Lockhart, Conor

Long, Sean Mattson, Alex Mazzone, Malachy McAvoy, Connor McGinley, Andrew McKenna, Ryan McMullen, Ryan McNamara, Connor Monahan, Edward Munoz, Patrick O'Neill, Christian O'Toole, Dylan Pallonetti, Ryan Pallonetti, Ryan Petraco, Matthew Petraco, Glen Pinkava, Dominic Pryor, Jack Purdy, Chandler Russell, Walter Saraceni, Jack Spinks, Connor Toomey, Nicholas Troy, Matthew Wang, Brandon White, and Cameron Williams; Head Coach Jay Negus; Coach Chris Muscarella; and Coach Chris Murphy, on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Ward Melville Boys' Varsity Lacrosse Team, Head Coach Jay Negus, Coach Chris Muscarella, and Coach Chris Murphy.