2017-K699

Assembly Resolution No. 699

BY: M. of A. Jones

CONGRATULATING the State University of New York at Plattsburgh Women's Ice Hockey Team and Head Coach Kevin Houle upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey National Championship

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to outstanding athletes who have distinguished themselves through their exceptional performance, attaining unprecedented success and the highest level of personal achievement; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the State University of New York (SUNY) at Plattsburgh Women's Ice Hockey Team and Head Coach Kevin Houle upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey National Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Cardinals defeated Adrian College in an exciting 4-3 overtime victory to capture the Championship on Saturday, March 18, 2017, at the Arrington Ice Arena in Adrian, Michigan; and

WHEREAS, This remarkable accomplishement will be recognized with a parade and a celebration at the field house in April of 2017; and

WHEREAS, The monumental win marked the top-ranked Cardinals' fourth straight, and sixth overall NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey National Championship, making it the first program in the history of Division III Woman's Ice Hockey to achieve this incredible feat; and

WHEREAS, In addition, the SUNY Plattsburgh Women's Ice Hockey Team won its seventh ECAC West title during the 2016-2017 season; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of red and white, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Cardinals throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 22-game unbeaten streak and an outstanding 28-1-1 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as ice hockey, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Kevin Houle and his expert coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the ice; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Kevin Houle and Assistant Coach Danielle
Blanchard and all of the outstanding athletes on the SUNY Plattsburgh
Women's Ice Hockey Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination
and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of
excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the SUNY Plattsburgh Women's Ice Hockey Team: Jordan Lipson, Lizzy Viola, Maci Hoskins, Jen Manning, Katelyn

Turk, Kayla Meneghin, Sarah Wolf, Mackenzie Millen, Ashley Songin, Meghan Kraus, Julia Duquette, Courtney Moriarty, Karen Hudson, Hannah Kiraly, Megan Crandell, Melissa Ames, Melissa Sheeran, Muna Fadel, Erin Brand, Camille Leonard, Kassi Abbott, and Brittani Mingoia; Head Coach Kevin Houle; and Assistant Coach Danielle Blanchard upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey National Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the State University of New York at Plattsburgh Women's Ice Hockey Team, Head Coach Kevin Houle, and Assistant Coach Danielle Blanchard.