

Ritchie Honors 27 Local Heroes At Veterans Hall Of Fame Ceremony

PATTY RITCHIE July 17, 2017



State Senator Patty Ritchie honored 27 veterans from Jefferson, Oswego and St. Lawrence Counties at her annual "Veterans Hall of Fame" ceremony at the Dobisky Center in Ogdensburg on Monday.

"It's so humbling to be able to honor these brave veterans and simply put, we cannot thank them enough for their dedication to protecting the freedoms of this great nation and its people," said Senator Ritchie. "From storming the beaches of Normandy during WWII, to more recent conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan, these brave individuals embody what it truly

means to be a hero. Without their selflessness and sacrifices, we would not be able to enjoy

the freedoms we have today."

Joining Senator Ritchie during this special ceremony was the Commanding General of the

10th Mountain Division, Major General Walter Piatt.

"The veterans who were honored at today's ceremony are the definition of heroes and their

bravery is truly an inspiration," said Major General Walter Piatt. "On behalf of the entire 10th

Mountain Division, thank you for your unwavering dedication to protecting our freedoms

and our country."

Members of the Heuvelton AMVETS Color Guard posted the colors during the ceremony and

Sloane Ryan, a high school student from Ogdensburg Free Academy, sang the National

Anthem.

These Central and Northern New York veterans were nominated for induction into the New

York State Senate's Veterans Hall of Fame by family, friends, co-workers and comrades-in-

arms for their military service to our nation, and their continuing work and involvement in

causes that benefit and improve our local communities, especially for soldiers and veterans.

Senator Ritchie honored the following veterans at Monday's ceremony:

Ronald Ralph Bauter of LaFargeville: Air Force

Richard L. Berghorn of Tylerville: Air Force

David Bulterman Sr. of Alexandria Bay: Navy

Joseph Scott Chrisman of Watertown: Army

Dr. Robert J. Kasulke of Watertown: Army

Thomas F. LaClair of Clayton: Air Force

Shon Lynn Montgomery of Adams: Army

Joseph Morisette of Cape Vincent: Air Force

Dr W. Barton Van Slyke of Watertown: Army

David W. Waite of Carthage: Army

Howard A. Waite of Castorland: Army

James Gioia of Phoenix: Army

Daniel M. Hunnicutt of Oswego: Army

Nicholas J. Mansfield, formerly of Volney: Army Air Corps (deceased)

Charles H. Alexander Jr. of Canton: Navy

Darrell L. Dailey of Massena: Army

Roy B. Forsythe of Gouverneur: Army

John F. Freego of Canton: Army

Richard Heffron of Gouverneur: Army

John McCullough of Ogdensburg: Army

David Pearson of Ogdensburg: Army

Tracy Lee Sheesley of Canton: Army

Robert Shelato, formerly of Massena: Army

Robert C. Sheridan of Canton: Army

William R. Swafford of South Colton: Navy

Robert K. Wilson of Potsdam: Navy

To learn more about the 2017 Veterans Hall of Fame Honroees, please click the above attachement.

(Attn. photo editors: Senator Ritchie is joined in the above photo with Major General Walter Piatt, Chaplin Booth and the 2017 Veterans Hall of Fame Honorees)