## 2017-J3104

Senate Resolution No. 3104

**BY: Senator DEFRANCISCO** 

CONGRATULATING the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class B Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young individuals within our community, who by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought great pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class B Championship; and WHEREAS, Before advancing to the state finals, the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team won their second-straight Section III Championship on October 27, 2017, at SUNY Cortland with a 1-0 win over Lowville; and

WHEREAS, On November 12, 2017, at Cortland High School, the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team faced off against Rochester Aquinas High School, taking home the NYSPHSAA Class B title as Co-Champions with a 2-2 victory shared with Rochester Aquinas; and

WHEREAS, After 110 minutes of soccer that lasted almost three hours, the state championship game tied after 30 minutes of nail-biting overtime, and the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team were declared Co-Champions; and

WHEREAS, With this win, the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team secured its fifth state championship overall, and its first state title in over a decade; and

WHEREAS, The Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team last earned a state title in 1999; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the outstanding players of the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team proved to be a terrific combination of talent, posting a spectacular overall season record of 22-0-2 and finishing their entire season undefeated; and

WHEREAS, No team can succeed without talent throughout its entire roster, as is the case with the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team of Lauren Bendall, Molly Bobbett, Olivia Bolesh, Sophia Caron, Maggie

Delano, Hannah Dorfman, Morgan Elmer, Erica Gangemi, Reilly Geer, Alyssa Holstein, Lauren Holstein, Madeleine Jones, Katelyn Karleski, Bella Lavigne, Lauren Marshall, Ryan Murphy, Megan O'Reilly, Mackenzie Powers, Cailey Robb, Ciarra Rudnick, Rylie Taber, and Samantha VanBuren; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Lisa Eipp and Assistant Coaches Alexandra Cooper and Bob Mengucci, who are skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Lisa Eipp, Alexandra Cooper and Bob Mengucci did a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the members of the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team toward their goals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class B Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned players and coaches of the Westhill Girls Varsity Soccer Team.