2017-J3252

Senate Resolution No. 3252

BY: Senator HANNON

CONGRATULATING the Garden City Varsity Football

Team and Head Coach Dave Ettinger upon the occasion
of capturing the 2017 Long Island High School

Football Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Garden City Varsity Football Team and Head Coach Dave Ettinger upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 Long Island High School Football Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Trojans defeated North Babylon in a decisive 24-6 victory to win the Championship on Friday, November 24, 2017, at Hofstra University in Hempstead, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of maroon and gray, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Trojans throughout their journey as they ended their season with their second straight 12-0 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as football, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Dave Ettinger, and Assistant Coaches Steve Finnell, Ray Chaputian, Ryan Boelsen, and Don Makofske worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Dave Ettinger, and Assistant Coaches Steve Finnell, Ray Chaputian, Ryan Boelsen, and Don Makofske, and all of the outstanding athletes on the Garden City Varsity Football Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Garden City Varsity Football Team: Ryan Bice, Daniel Boccafola, James Buckley, Donald Byrne, Ford Carney, James Cashwell, Justin Coppola, Tim Curran, Liam Curtin, Angelo Demiris, Mark DiPierro, Matthew DeSimpliciis, Cole Dutton, Lucas Feingold, Matthew Flanagan, Brian Greene, Aiden Griffin, Liam Griffith, Connor Gunn, Steven Haass, Colin Hart, Sal Ingrassia, Nick Katos, Billy Kephart, Patrick Leggett, Sean Leggett, Michael McAuley, Joseph McDonagh, Matt McGovern; Kyle Merritts, John Morris, Steven Moscatiello, Harry Murphy, Sean Norton, Dan O'Connor, Holden Overbeck, Kiernan Paskewitz, Aidan

Pfaff, Will Puccio, Sean Rode, Joe Scattareggia, Christian Smith, Steven Spirakis, Kyle Steinbach, Christian Sullivan, Ryan Walsh, Trevor Yeboah-Kodie; Team Captains Andrew DiSantis, Matthew Granville, Michael Liberopoulos, and Tyler Wuchte; Head Coach Dave Ettinger; and Assistant Coaches Steve Finnell, Ray Chaputian, Ryan Boelsen, and Don Makofske on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Garden City Varsity Football Team, Head Coach Dave Ettinger, and Assistant Coaches Steve Finnell, Ray Chaputian, Ryan Boelsen, and Don Makofske.