2017-J3282

Senate Resolution No. 3282

BY: Senator AKSHAR

CONGRATULATING the Vestal Boys Varsity Soccer Team and Head Coach Dave Barr upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 Class A NYSPHSAA Soccer Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Vestal Boys Varsity Soccer Team and Head Coach Dave Barr upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 Class A NYSPHSAA Soccer Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Golden Bears defeated Queensbury High School in a decisive 4-0 victory to win the Championship on Sunday, November 12, 2017, at Faller Field in Middletown, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of green and gold, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Golden Bears throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 20-0 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as soccer, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Dave Barr and his skilled coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Coach Dave Barr and all of the outstanding athletes on the Vestal Boys Varsity Soccer Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Vestal Boys Varsity Soccer Team: Corey Barr, Carter Beaulieu, Vince Dieffenbaugher, Jonathon Eaton, Anthony Espino, Jacob Furminger, Joe Gashinsky, Anthony Haykal, Matthew Hlopko, Evan Hofmann, Narayan Jaen, Mateo Lata, John Li, Dan Mansfield, Marcel Mazur, Colin McCarthy, Parker McKnight, Nathan Olmstead, Tristan Olmstead, Archit Pahadi, Nathan Parsons, Cory Powers, Mark Pradun, Grant Russell, Jonathon Shapiro, Matt Sprague, Aaron Tebow, Dominic Warren, and Jacob Wlostowski; and Head Coach Dave Barr on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Vestal Boys Varsity Soccer Team, and Head Coach Dave Barr.