2017-J3283

Senate Resolution No. 3283

BY: Senator AKSHAR

CONGRATULATING the Owego Varsity Volleyball Team and Head Coach Brittney Race upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 Class B NYSPHSAA Volleyball Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Owego Varsity Volleyball Team and Head Coach Brittney Race upon the occasion of capturing their third Class B NYSPHSAA Volleyball Championship in the last five years; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Indians defeated Hudson Falls in a 3-0 victory to win the Championship on Sunday, November 19, 2017, at the Glens Falls Civic Center in Glens Falls, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of red and blue, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Indians throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 19-0 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as volleyball, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Brittney Race, and Assistant Coaches Breanna Horton, Pam Horton, Erica Darpino, and Kayla Snyder worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Brittney Race, Assistant Coaches Breanna Horton, Pam Horton, Erica Darpino, Kayla Snyder, and all of the outstanding athletes on the Owego Varsity Volleyball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Owego Varsity Volleyball Team: Mackenzie Struble, Kaylee Kelly, Makenna Boehme, Genevieve Coleman, Brinn Shaughnessy, Paige Taylor, Sara Zepkowski, Shannon Heffernan, Grace Thomas, Ruby Coleman, Taylor Aubel, Annika Kinney, Bianca DeVita, and McKenzie Hart; Head Coach Brittney Race, Assistant Coaches Breanna Horton, Pam Horton, Erica Darpino, and Kayla Snyder on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Owego Varsity Volleyball Team, Head Coach Brittney Race, Assistant Coaches Breanna Horton, Pam Horton, Erica Darpino, and Kayla Snyder.