2017-J3285

Senate Resolution No. 3285

BY: Senator LAVALLE

CONGRATULATING the Center Moriches Boys Varsity
Soccer Team and Head Coach Chris O'Brien upon the
occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class B Soccer
Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Center Moriches Boys Varsity Soccer Team and Head Coach Chris O'Brien upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class B Soccer Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Red Devils defeated Ichabod Crane High School in a decisive 4-0 victory to win the Championship; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of red and white,

family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Plainsmen throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 21-0 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as soccer, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Chris O'Brien and his skilled coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Chris O'Brien and all of the outstanding athletes on the Center Moriches Boys Varsity Soccer Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Center Moriches Boys Varsity Soccer Team: Matt Alifano, Eric Amaya, Jake Argyropoulos, Nicholas Baust, Michael Bartholomew, Quintin Burian, Curtis Copenhaver, John DeBatto, Jr., Dylan DeLong, David Franchi, Benjamin Hamilton, Kyle Kochanskyj, Michael Letscher, Christopher Lopez-Flores, Michael Luongo, Thomas Luongo, Jack Mahoney, Daniel Marrone, Ryan McDermott, Bryon Miguel, Liam O'Brien, James Pfister, Liam Pulseipher, Jhon Quizhpe, Colin Raupp, John Rocco, Jesus Rojas, Anthony Sunderman, Jack Wicks, and Donald Wood III; and Head Coach Chris O'Brien; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Center Moriches Varsity Boys Soccer Team and Head Coach Chris O'Brien.