2017-J3351

Senate Resolution No. 3351

BY: Senator BRESLIN

CONGRATULATING the Troy Varsity Football Team and Coach Bob Burns upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class AA Football Championship on November 26, 2017

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Troy Varsity Football Team and Head Coach Bob Burns upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class AA Boys Football Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Flying Horses defeated Lancaster High School in a decisive 41-26 victory to win their second straight Championship on Sunday, November 26, 2017, at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York; WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of purple and gold, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Flying Horses throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 13-0 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as football, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Bob Burns, and his expert coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Bob Burns and all of the outstanding athletes on the Troy Varsity Football Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Troy Varsity Football Team: Joey Ward, Xavier Leigh, Avery Curley, Makai Cruel, Lorenzo Brammer, Mike Fazio, Joe Casale, Dev Holmes, Mike Ragone, Matt Ashley, Isaiah Burdette, Mikey Hiraldo, Keyshawn McMorris, Tyrone Jones, Darius Holmes, Derone Melton, Luis Virola, Ty McNeill, Garfield Wisdom, Gennaro Valenti, Hunter Redden, Jordan Audi, Kevin Bruno, Derrick Cipriani, JJ McLean, Tafari Nedrick, Ronnie Franklin, Patrick Grant, Jared Delsignore, Tyler Vanderwood, Kneico Gonzalez, Zack McCrea, Amaru Dallas, Matt Miner, Matt Esenter, Anthony Tuck, and Dan McCrea; and Head Coach Bob Burns upon the

occasion of capturing the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class AA Football Championship; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Troy Varsity Football Team, and Head Coach Bob Burns.