2017-J3378

Senate Resolution No. 3378

BY: Senator LITTLE

CONGRATULATING the Cambridge Varsity Football Team and Head Coach Doug Luke upon the occasion of capturing the 2017 Class D NYSPHSAA Football Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Cambridge Varsity Football Team and Head Coach Doug Luke upon the occasion of capturing their second straight Class D NYSPHSAA Football Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Indians defeated Maple Grove in a 26-14 victory to win the Championship on Friday, November 24, 2017, at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of orange and black, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Indians throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 12-1 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as football, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Doug Luke, and Assistant Coaches Adam Burr, Chad Burr, Derek Srygley, Anthony Bochette, Dan Severson, and Don Record worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Doug Luke, Assistant Coaches Adam Burr, Chad Burr, Derek Srygley, Anthony Bochette, Dan Severson, and Don Record, and all of the outstanding athletes on the Cambridge Varsity Football Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Cambridge Varsity Football Team: Brenden Holcomb, Hunter Day, Zack Rowland, Tyler Linendoll, Owen Foyle, Tommy English, Brad Rowland, Jonas Butz, Helen Mooney, Calvin Schneider, Daniel Medina, Paul DuJack, Colton Dean, Kaedin Ogilvie, Jacob Ruggles, Gabe Sgambettera, Nathan Genevick, Patrick Hughes, Max Hoffer, Carter Benson, Brett Lemieux, Jordan Dean, Sam Starks, Brady Lybert, Tyler Stevens, Ethan Jeskie, LJ Johnson, Keenan McCauley, Jacob Peters, and Soyer Mattson; Head Coach Doug Luke; and Assistant Coaches Adam Burr,

Chad Burr, Derek Srygley, Anthony Bochette, Dan Severson, and Don Record on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Cambridge Varsity Football Team, Head Coach Doug Luke, Assistant Coaches Adam Burr, Chad Burr, Derek Srygley, Anthony Bochette, Dan Severson, and Don Record; and Athletic Director, Deb Lauver.