2017-K736

Assembly Resolution No. 736

BY: M. of A. Finch

CONGRATULATING the Skaneateles Varsity Football
Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA
Class C Championship, the school's first-ever State
Championship in the sport

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young individuals within our community who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Skaneateles Varsity Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class C Championship; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the outstanding players of the Skaneateles Varsity Football Team proved to be a terrific combination of talent throughout their entire season, posting a spectacular overall record of 12-1; and

WHEREAS, Before advancing to the state finals, the Skaneateles

Varsity Football Team won the Section III Championship on November 4,

2017, in the Carrier Dome at Syracuse University; and

WHEREAS, On November 24, 2017, the Skaneateles Varsity Football Team returned to the Carrier Dome and made history by winning its first-ever state title against Holy Trinity High School in an incredibly hard fought 28-25 game; and

WHEREAS, The Skaneateles Varsity Football Team demonstrated impressive effort and determination to battle through four quarters of back-and-forth play, and ultimately came out on top; and

WHEREAS, No team can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster, as is the case for the Skaneateles Varsity Football Team of Cross Bianchi, Areh Boni, Carter Blake, Ken Byrne, Jared Calipari, Jack Carlile, Jack Comer, Nathaniel Congel, Colin Cox, Caden Custer, John Danforth, Hunter Dart, Ben Euto, James Falso, Will Frank, Alex Goethe, TJ Greenfield, Patrick Hackler, Solomon Landsberg, James Leubner, Jimmy Liberatore, Jack Mannigan, William McGlynn, Mason Michel, Christian Miles-Pizzoleo, Jacob Nesbitt, Scott Ochsner, Billy Richards, Jon Ricklefs, Avery Rodgers, John Ryan, Craig Scherrer, Tom Scherrer, Tyler Schneider, Hunter Simmons, Nathan Squires, Haas Tehan, Calen Van

Holtz, Luke Viggiano, Nick Wamp, Oliver Weir, Nathan Wellington, and Hunter Woodruff; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Skaneateles Varsity
Football Team is in great part due to the efforts of Head Coach Joe
Sindoni and Assistant Coaches Zack Blair, Guy Blasi, Tim Brown, Shawn
Comer, Nick Commisso, David Dinnelo, Tim Lee, Nate Molnar and Mike Wamp,
who are skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability
to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, These coaches did a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the members of the Skaneateles Varsity Football Team toward their goals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Skaneateles Varsity Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class C Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned players and coaches of the Skaneateles Varsity Football Team.