2017-J3787

Senate Resolution No. 3787

BY: Senator LAVALLE

CONGRATULATING the Mount Sinai Varsity Wrestling
Team and Head Coach Matt Armstrong upon the occasion
of capturing the NYSPHSAA Division II Wrestling Dual
Meet Championship on January 27, 2018

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Mount Sinai Varsity Wrestling Team and Head Coach Matt Armstrong upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Division II Wrestling Dual Meet Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Mustangs beat Canisteo-Greenwood in the final match by a close score of 33-30 to capture the Championship on Saturday, January 27, 2018, at the

WHEREAS, The Mustangs were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, friends, and the community at large throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as wrestling, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Matt Armstrong; Assistant Coaches, Ralph Menechino, Kurt Wagner, Jim Walker, and Erick Strovink; and Athletic Director, Scott Reh worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the mat; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Matt Armstrong and all of the outstanding athletes on the Mount Sinai Varsity Wrestling Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Mount Sinai Varsity Wrestling Team: Brendan Goodrich, Jack Tyrrell, Joseph Sabella, Luca Martinis, Tristan Narcii, Kyle Pearl, Matthew Campo, Michael O'Brian, Peter Colantuono, Ryan Shanian, John Yeamans, Joseph O'Brien, John Marullo, Christopher Gulli, Mike Zarif, Yusuf Azeem, Erol Akcay, Richard Harris, Dominic Boscarino, Jahvaun Brown, Joseph Goodrich, Vincent Valente, Michael Sabella, Adham Shata, Antonio Palmiotto, Gianluca Ferrara, Jake Croston, David Mazzella, and Michael Ruggieri; Head Coach Matt Armstrong; Assistant Coaches Ralph Menechino, Kurt Wagner, Jim Walker, and Erick

Strovink; and Athletic Director Scott Reh upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Division II Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Mount Sinai Varsity Wrestling Team; Head Coach Matt Armstrong; Assistant Coaches Ralph Menechino, Kurt Wagner, Jim Walker, and Erick Strovink; and Athletic Director Scott Reh.