2017-J3918

Senate Resolution No. 3918

BY: Senator YOUNG

CONGRATULATING the Alfred University Men's Rugby Club upon the occasion of winning the National Small College Rugby Organization Upstate Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can only be achieved through strenuous practice, team play, and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to recognize those individuals within our community who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Alfred University Men's Rugby Club upon the occasion of winning the National Small College Rugby Organization Upstate Championship; and

WHEREAS, On November 4, 2017, the Alfred Men's Rugby Club defeated Paul Smith's College, 58-19, winning the state championship; the Alfred University Men's Rugby Club won its second New York State Conference trophy, the first since 1996; and

WHEREAS, The Alfred University Men's Rugby Club has enjoyed one of the most successful seasons in the program's 32-year history by finishing the 2017-18 season with a 9-2 record, and claiming its first Upstate Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Alfred University Men's Rugby Club is ranked 18th in a released National Small College Rugby Organization Top 40 Poll; the team dedicated its second playoff win over SUNY-Maritime on Veterans Day 2017 to deceased team Charter Member, Jeffrey Hollier, PhD '88 from Angelica; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the dedication and efforts of Team Player-Coach, Captain and 3-time MVP Rick Krouse; Team Co-Founder (1985) and Alfred University graduate, Class of 1977, William W. Pulos; Alfred University Association Athletic Director, and Coach, Anthony Aquilina; and Team Photographers, Libby Dussault and Amy Kozlowski; and

WHEREAS, The team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends, and the entire community; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on Alfred University; and

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to publicly recognize those high school athlete-scholars who have achieved notable success in this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Alfred University Men's Rugby Club: Alfred Farrell, Prestin Sample, Marty Campbell, Brandon Whitton-Sosa,

Connor Cox, Mike Nowak, Alex George, Matt Grosso, John Klosser, Taylor Geib, Charlie Cespedes, Connor Glasser, two time NYS Championships 2016-17 "Man of the Match" Nathan Auernhamer, Jeff Wood, Matt Macagne, Enderson Naar, Alex Mears, Brady Miller, Zach Zawojoski, Robbie Klotz, Reid Greiner, Jeff Nunez, Ben Conley, Hayden Allis, Tyler Ford, John Zaengle, Mark Gallo, Tim Burns, Derek Kesel, Emarrius Bouie, Luke Tesoiero, Blake Evans, Dante Ryone, and Marvin Wong on their incredible State title win; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Alfred University Men's Rugby Club; Team Player-Coach, Captain Rick Krouse; Coaches William Pulos and Anthony Aquilina; and Photographers Libby Dussault and Amy Kozlowski.