2017-J4408

Senate Resolution No. 4408

BY: Senator HELMING

CONGRATULATING the Canandaigua Varsity

Cheerleading Team and Head Coach Laura Burgess upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA D1 Small Division Cheerleading Championship on March 3, 2018

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Canandaigua Varsity Cheerleading Team and Head Coach Laura Burgess upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA D1 Small Division Cheerleading Championship on March 3, 2018; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Braves placed first in their division and captured the Grand Championship with the highest score of the day; and

WHEREAS, With this monumental win, the Canandaigua Varsity

Cheerleading Team earned a berth to the Nationals in Walt Disney World, where the Braves proudly placed second in their division; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of cherry and gray, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Braves throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as cheerleading, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Laura Burgess and her expert coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the mat; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Laura Burgess and all of the outstanding athletes on the Canandaigua Varsity Cheerleading Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Canandaigua Varsity Cheerleading Team: Caelyn Taribassi, Lexi Wagenbaugh, Alaynna Richmond, Samantha Collea, Mckiah Ayers, Olivia Wethington, Sage Simmons, Teagan Cronk, Alsatia Holbrook, Katelynn Kimble, Lexi Taft, Meleena Mortimer, Katie Opiela, and Aspen Farnes as well as alternates Mikayla Coleates and Gabi Tepedino; and Head Coach Laura Burgess upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA D1 Small Division Cheerleading Championship on March 3, 2018; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be

transmitted to the members of the Canandaigua Varsity Cheerleading Team, and Head Coach Laura Burgess.