2017-J4536

Senate Resolution No. 4536

BY: Senator KENNEDY

CONGRATULATING the University at Buffalo Men's
Basketball Team and Head Coach Nate Oats upon the
occasion of upsetting fourth-seeded University of
Arizona in the first round of the NCAA Tournament on
March 15, 2018

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in collegiate sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the citizens of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the University at Buffalo Men's Basketball Team and Head Coach Nate Oats upon the occasion of upsetting fourth-seeded University of Arizona in the first round of the NCAA Tournament on Thursday, March 15, 2018; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the 13th-seeded Bulls defeated the heavily favored Wildcats in the Taco Bell Arena at Boise State University in a decisive 89-68 victory to win the game; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of blue and white, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Bulls throughout their journey as they captured their first MAC Regular Season Title and ended their season with an impressive 27-9 overall record; and

WHEREAS, After their incredible season, several members of the University at Buffalo Men's Basketball Team were selected to various postseason teams and Head Coach Nate Oats was named Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year, and District Coach of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC); and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as basketball, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Nate Oats worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Nate Oats and all of the outstanding athletes on the University at Buffalo Men's Basketball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the University at Buffalo Men's Basketball Team: James Reese, Montell McRae, Jeremy Harris, Jayvon Graves, Davonta Jordan, CJ Massinburg, Wes Clark, Colby Moultrie, Dominic Johnson,

Dontay Caruthers, Gabe Agorioge, Nick Perkins, Ikenna Smart, and Brock Bertram; and Head Coach Nate Oats upon the occasion of upsetting fourth-seeded University of Arizona in the first round of the NCAA Tournament on March 15, 2018; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the University at Buffalo Men's Basketball Team, and Head Coach Nate Oats.