

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR Pamela Helming

## Senator Helming Welcomes State Champion Lansing Boys Soccer Team to the State Capitol

SENATOR PAM HELMING April 24, 2018



ALBANY – Senator Pam Helming proudly celebrated the members of the Lansing High School varsity boys soccer team at the State Capitol Tuesday, April 17. The players and their coaches were special guests of Senator Helming. She welcomed them to the Senate floor and sponsored a resolution to honor the state champions. Senator Helming offered remarks in which she congratulated the team and the school and acknowledged the athletes' commitment, dedication, and sacrifice to win the title. She presented certificates to each of the players as well as copies of the resolution to Head Coach Benji Parkes and Assistant Coaches Dave Schlesinger, Brian Streb, Jamie Saroka, and Eric Stickel.

"There is something especially inspiring about this championship. This championship transcends the coaches and players. Last year, the team and community lost their Head Coach Adam Heck suddenly during an overnight, preseason trip with the team. He coached Lansing for 20 seasons. It is truly incredible to see the entire school and community rally around this team after Coach Heck's passing and support them in their journey to the state championship. Players and coaches have dedicated this championship and extraordinary season to Coach Heck. I couldn't be prouder to recognize all of the players as well as Coach Parkes and the assistant coaches," Senator Helming said.

Afterward, Senator Helming hosted a pizza party for the players and their coaches and gave them a tour of the Capitol. She spoke to them about her experience in local and state government, and she talked about the importance of getting involved locally and globally to help shape the future.

The athletes honored include Jack Yahn, Langston Hopkins, Lansing Miller, James Blair, Mason Edwards, Taylor Overton, Josh Zajac, Jason Littlefair, Nic Whittaker, Nick Parkes, Darius Desnoes, Erik Goehler, Jacob Williamson, Aidan Hulsebosch, Matt Weil, Joe Besemer, Ethan Burt, Trey McDonald, Ethan Zemanick, Quinn Page, Henry Myers, George Taylor, John Rogers, and Matthew Kirkwood.