## 2017-K1071

Assembly Resolution No. 1071

BY: M. of A. Jaffee

CONGRATULATING students from Rockland County upon the occasion of participating in the Martin Luther King, Jr. Oratory Contest

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those young people who, by achieving outstanding success in oratory contests, have inspired and brought pride to our majestic Empire State; and

WHEREAS, It is the further sense of this Legislative Body to commend intellectual achievements and pay special recognition to those who embrace Dr. King's legacy of peace and brotherhood among all people; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate students from Rockland County upon the occasion of participating in the Martin Luther King, Jr. Oratory Contest; and

WHEREAS, The Martin Luther King, Jr. Oratory Contest is held annually during Black History Month; the contest was established over five years ago by Reverend Earl S. Miller, a former chair of the Nyack Center's Black History Celebration; and

WHEREAS, Rockland County students age 13-20 are encouraged to apply

to this oratory contest to celebrate Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s legacy; students choose a famous speech, sermon, or letter written by Dr. King to deliver to a panel of judges on the evening of the contest; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes the tremendous amount of hard work students involved in the contest put in to prepare their renditions of Dr. King's speeches; and

WHEREAS, Poised eagerly with enthusiasm and determined purpose, these students now stands honorably, with just pride in their accomplishments and in eager anticipation of future challenges; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the winners of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Oratory Contest: First Place, Dariana Almonte; Second Place, Nia Gabrielle Spann; and Third Place, Stephen Shaji; and special acknowledgment shall be made to all participants, including: Anijah Smith, Aurelie Jean Francios, Daveed Saguay, Djazmina Jean-Pierre, Jason Adelson, Jimna Aurelus, Kara Philip, Norma D. St Hubert, Sheonnette Thompson, and Srinath Kurup; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned students.