2017-J5154

Senate Resolution No. 5154

BY: Senator RITCHIE

CONGRATULATING the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Boys
Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the USA
Hockey Tier II National Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through disciplined practice, strong teamwork, and good sportsmanship, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of hard work, and by encouraging a standard of healthy living; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young athletic teams within the State of New York that, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought great pride to their communities; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is hereby justly proud to congratulate the St. Lawrence Thunder 16-U Boys Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the USA Hockey Tier II National Championship Title on April 9, 2018; and

WHEREAS, In order to advance to the final championship round, the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Boys Hockey Team edged the Armstrong Arrows of Pennsylvania in the quarterfinals by a score of 3-2, and then defeated the top-ranked team in the country, the Detroit-area Oakland Grizzlies, in the semifinals by a score of 7-1; and

WHEREAS, Then at the final game, the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Boys Hockey Team defeated the South Connecticut Stars with a score of 4-2 to capture the National Championship, capping off a five day tournament in Wayne, New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, The win marked the sixth straight win for the Thunder over a five day span, and makes the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Boys Hockey Team the first local boys minor league hockey team to capture a national title; and

WHEREAS, No team can succeed without outstanding skill and talent throughout its entire roster; such as is the case for the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Boys Hockey Team whose members include: Rico DiMatteo, Romano Sergi, Cameron Cartier, Edward Bannister, Matthew Harvey, Robert Wells, Isaac Testani, Carter Rose, Nate Boak, Zachary Ellsworth, Christopher Paige, Robert Southwick, Dillon St. Ann-Spinner, Jacob Brothers, Payton Felix, Kaleb Rathbun, John Mahoney, Will Varney, and Casey Hooper; and

WHEREAS, The talent displayed by the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Boys
Hockey Team is due in great part to the constant encouragement and
dedicated efforts of Head Coach Mark Goodnow and Assistant Coaches Josh
Bartell, Nick Sheehan and Dustin Smith; and

WHEREAS, Participation in athletic competition instills in our youth

the important values of teamwork, pride, and accomplishment, and the players and coaches of the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Boys Hockey Team have clearly contributed to the pride of their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Boys Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the National Tier II 16U Championship Title; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the players and coaches of the St. Lawrence Thunder II 16U Boys Hockey Team.