2017-J5397

Senate Resolution No. 5397

BY: Senator DEFRANCISCO

CONGRATULATING the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning its 11th National Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved through strenuous practice, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young people within the State of New York who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their college and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of the State of New York, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and by developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team won its 11th National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Championship on Sunday, May 13, 2018, at Lazer Stadium on the Onondaga Community College campus; and

WHEREAS, Onondaga Community College (OCC) capped an undefeated season and ran its two-year winning streak to 30 games with an 11-9 win over Nassau Community College; the victory gave OCC back-to-back national titles and 11 championships in the last 13 seasons; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team can now be proud of 11 national titles, which is second in National Junior College Athletic Association lacrosse history; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Onondaga Community
College Men's Lacrosse Team is due in great part to the skilled and
supportive efforts of Head Coach Chuck Wilbur and Assistant Coaches Mike
Villano, Chris Brim, Nick Gatto, Zak VanValkenburgh and Bob Leary; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the season, players on the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team also were loyally and enthusiastically supported by their family, friends and the Central New York community at large; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team rallied behind one another in establishing a brotherhood of athletic ability, good sportsmanship and honor, while demonstrating that these team players are a winning force; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the Onondaga Community

College Men's Lacrosse Team proved to be an unbeatable combination of
talents, contributing to the spirit of excellence that is a tradition of
their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning its 11th national championship; its members include:

Jake Rosenthal, Zach Lorenz, Jake Corcoran, Braeden Elmer, Jason Tebo, Riley Ford, Joe Krambeer, Jake McNabb, Cade Talbert, Peter Kwas, Brendon Closs, Colton Thew, Zach Pierce, Jalen Paul, Koichi Nakamura, Nike Henrie, Frank Delia, PJ Delpha, Nick Meyers, Dillon Darcangelo, Matt Cavanaugh, Marty Shargel, Brook Rideau, Dorian Faster, Luke Rogers, Austin Robinson, Brandon O'Brien, Erik Anderson, Sean Rigley, Kyle Worsley, Nate Sturick, Jerry Staats, Will Malerk, Jake Cartwright, Cain Tagliagambe, Russ Oakes, Robbie Pollock, Travis Longboat, Mike Carpenter, Samuel Esterle, Cole Kirby, Austin Staats, Gavin Kesselring, James Sexton, Riley Smith, Brad Simoncelli, Skkylar Thomas, Austin Gibbons, Cameron Hartman, Jimmy Kelley, Pete Maxwell, and Brian Rowe; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the players and coaches of the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team.