## 2017-J5437

Senate Resolution No. 5437

BY: Senator YOUNG

COMMEMORATING the 100th Anniversary of the New York State Oil Producers' Association

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to honor and commemorate the proud and distinguished histories of exceptional organizations that are a part of the community and comprise the noble body of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the New York State Oil Producers' Association; and

WHEREAS, On July 18, 1918, the largest group of oil producers to ever meet assembled in Bolivar; there were about 140 men that enrolled with the goal of securing a large membership and embracing every oil producing township in the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, At this meeting, held during the late stages of World War I, elected officers included: President, John P. Herrick; Vice Presidents, E.C. Brown and George H. Bradley; Secretary and Treasurer, Frank Richart, and Assistant Secretary, A.J. Matson; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Oil Producers' Association over the last

century has built an outstanding reputation of responsible exploration, development and production of crude oil and natural gas in the Empire State, always protecting the rights of independent producers; and

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to publicly recognize and honor milestones in the history of communities large and small in this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the New York State Oil Producers' Association; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the New York State Oil Producers' Association.