2017-J5579

Senate Resolution No. 5579

BY: Senator DEFRANCISCO

CONGRATULATING the Le Moyne College Women's
Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the
National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)
Division II Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young individuals within our community, who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought great pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Le Moyne College Women's Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the National Collegiate Athletic Association

WHEREAS, Before advancing to the national championship tournament, the Le Moyne Dolphins won the Northeast-10 Conference Championship game on May 6, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Then the Le Moyne Women's Lacrosse Team made program history when, on May 20, 2018, at the University of Tampa Lacrosse Stadium in Florida, they faced off against the Florida Southern College Moccasins and finished with a 16-11 victory; and

WHEREAS, The Le Moyne Women's Lacrosse Team took home the NCAA Division II title, the first ever national championship win for the school; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the outstanding players of the Le Moyne College Women's Lacrosse Team proved to be a terrific combination of talent, posting a spectacular overall season record of 22-1, breaking last year's school record total of 19 victories, while tying the NCAA Division II record for wins in a season; and

WHEREAS, No team can succeed without talent throughout its entire roster, as is the case with the Le Moyne College Women's Lacrosse Team whose players include: Julia Alberici, Emily Altland, Emily Baldwin, Grace Bang, Kasi Cabrey, Nicole Delany, Kristen DiCicco, Jessica Dussing, Nicole Easterly, Bryanna Fazio, Lauren Ferris, Kelly Gaffney, Hannah George, Sidney Hall, Claire Herrmann, Molly Hines, Katie Kerner, Brynne Lafave, Shannon Letourneau, Sydney Meagher, Abbie McEntee, Olivia

McEntee, Erin McMullen, Jacqueline Pardee, Grace Milmoe, Jamie Peters, Brittney Pollack, Maddy Pritchard, and Monica Sanna; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Le Moyne College
Women's Lacrosse Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach
Kathy Taylor and Assistant Coaches Cacki Helmer and Nicole Bello, who
are skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability to
develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Kathy Taylor, Cacki Helmer, and Nicole Bello did a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the members of the Le Moyne College Women's Lacrosse Team toward their goals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Le Moyne College Women's Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned players and coaches of the Le Moyne College Women's Lacrosse Team.