2017-K1351

Assembly Resolution No. 1351

BY: M. of A. Heastie

HONORING the memory of the deceased members of the New York State Assembly, in recognition of their careers in public service

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that the quality and character of life in this great Empire State is enriched by the efforts of those individuals who commit their lives to public service; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Assembly, representing the people of the State of New York, is moved this day with profound sorrow at the recent deaths of members of the Assembly and to recognize their achievements; and

WHEREAS, Robert M. Blakeman, who served in the 6th Assembly District from 1962-1964 and in the 19th Assembly District in 1966, died on April 21, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Robert M. Blakeman's most noted accomplishment as an Assemblyman was establishing revenue sharing to ensure all counties were treated equitably and fairly; and

WHEREAS, Herman D. Farrell, Jr, who served in the 74th Assembly District from 1975-1982 and in the 71st Assembly District in 1983-2017,

WHEREAS, Herman D. Farrell, Jr, championed many critical and landmark pieces of legislation during his time in the Assembly including the Neighborhood Preservation Companies Act and the Omnibus Consumer Protection and Banking Legislation Act and, in 1994, was named the Chair of the Ways and Means Committee where he oversaw the budget process until his retirement in 2017; and

WHEREAS, Maurice D. Hinchey, who served in the 101st Assembly District from 1975-1992, died on November 22, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Maurice D. Hinchey served for 14 years as Chair of the Environmental Conservation Committee; he was the sponsor of many of the first laws protecting New York's water, air and land, including the nation's first Acid Rain law; and

WHEREAS, Luigi R. Marano, who served in the 12st Assembly District from 1957-1964, died on December 29, 2017; and

WHEREAS, John Brian Murtaugh, who served in the 72nd Assembly District from 1981-1996, died on December 10, 2017; and

WHEREAS, John Brian Murtaugh served as Chair of the Committee on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse and worked to improve drug treatment in New York; and

WHEREAS, Angelo F. Orazio, who served in the 15th Assembly District from 1974-1984, died on January 22, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Angelo F. Orazio served as Chair of the Energy Committee

and as a member of the Assembly Special Committee on Nuclear Safety and, in 1983, was appointed by the governor to the Advisory Committee on Low-level Radioactive Waste Disposal; and

WHEREAS, Herbert A. Posner, who served in the 19th Assembly District from 1967-1972 and in the 22nd Assembly District from 1973-1977, died on March 18, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Michael Simanowitz served in the 27th Assembly District from 2011 until his death on September 2, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Michael Simanowitz spearheaded a number of important legislative measures including requiring children under the age of 18 to obtain parental consent prior to obtaining a body piercing; in addition to his legislative accomplishments, he was a member of the 107 Precinct Auxiliary Unit beginning in 1995, rising to the esteemed position of Commander; and

WHEREAS, Frank K. Skartados served in the 100th Assembly District from 2008-2010 and 2011 until his death on April 15, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Frank K. Skartados championed legislation focused on job creation and economic development and improving educational opportunities for New York's children; and

WHEREAS, Louise M. Slaughter, who served in the 130th Assembly District from 1983-1986, died on March 16, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Louise M. Slaughter served as the Chair of the Assembly sub-committee on Jail Overcrowding and went on to serve with distinction as a member of Congress where she was the first women to Chair the House Rules Committee; and

WHEREAS, Ronald H. Tills, who served in the 147th Assembly District from 1969-1977, died on February 4, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Ronald H. Tills served on the Codes, Transportation and Corporations Committees and was Chair of the Select Committee to Study the Revision of Corporation Laws; he went on to serve as a State Supreme Court Justice; and

WHEREAS, Paul A. Worlock, who served in the 1st Assembly District from 1961-1965, died on April 9, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Paul A. Worlock served as Chair of the Agriculture
Committee and was a member of the Cities, Conservation, Rules and
Taxation Committees; and

WHEREAS, It is with hope that future generations understand the value of public service to the citizens of this great Empire State, while this Legislative Body recognizes these former members of the New York State Assembly; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the memory of the 2017-2018 deceased members of the New York State

Assembly, in recognition of their careers in public service; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed be transmitted to the families of the aforementioned Assembly members.