2017-J5853

Senate Resolution No. 5853

BY: Senator LITTLE

CONGRATULATING the Fort Ann Varsity Softball Team and Head Coach Jason Humiston upon the occasion of capturing the 2018 NYSPHSAA Softball Class D Championship on June 9, 2018

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Fort Ann Varsity Softball Team and Head Coach Jason Humiston upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Softball Class D Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Cardinals defeated three-time defending champion Deposit High School in an exciting 4-3 victory to capture the Championship on Saturday, June 9, 2018, at Moreau Recreational Park in South Glens Falls, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of red and white, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Cardinals throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 8-3 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as softball, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Jason Humiston and Assistant Coaches Dan Paige, Gretchen Stark and Greg Lehoisky have worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Jason Humiston and all of the outstanding athletes on the Fort Ann Varsity Softball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Fort Ann Varsity Softball Team: Raegan Thorpe, Megan Wemett, Renee Allen, Tessa Camp, Kayla Bailey, Amanda Godfrey, Kate Jackson, Kylah Lindgren, Emily Waters, Allison Keith, Sarah Paige, Jenna Siaulnski, Faith Lehoisky, and Becky Ostrander; Head Coach Jason Humiston; Assistant Coaches Dan Paige, Gretchen Stark and Greg Lehoisky; and Managers Kayleigh Hardy and Emma Blondin upon the occasion of capturing the 2018 NYSPHSAA Softball Class D Championship on June 9, 2018; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Fort Ann Varsity Softball Team, Head Coach Jason Humiston, Assistant Coaches Dan Paige, Gretchen Stark and Greg Lehoisky; and Managers Kayleigh Hardy and Emma Blondin.