## 2017-K1414

Assembly Resolution No. 1414

BY: M. of A. Hunter

CONGRATULATING the Christian Brothers Academy Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning the NYSPHSAA Class A Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young individuals within our midst, who by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have brought great pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future, by instilling in them the value of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and by developing a sense of fair play, teamwork and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Christian Brothers Academy Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) Class A Championship at SUNY Cortland on WHEREAS, The CBA Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team captured the school's fourth state lacrosse championship by using a strong defense, timely goal-tending and balanced scoring to defeat Penfield High School by a final score of 10-5; and

WHEREAS, The road to the State Title game was rigorous as the CBA Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team first topped West Genesee High School 6-4 for the Sectional Title on May 22, 2018, then defeated Ithaca 11-7 in regional play and West Islip 13-8 in the regional semifinals, to ultimately advance to the state championship game; and

WHEREAS, The CBA Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team finished the 2018 season with an impressive overall 18-3 record; and

WHEREAS, The talent displayed by the CBA Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Doug Sedgwick and Assistant Coaches Claire Sedgwick, Fran Webster, and Pat Britton; and

WHEREAS, The players of the CBA Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team being commended for their outstanding achievements are, listed in order of team numbers: Claire Jeschke, Anna Ziemba, Kathleen Harrigan, Amanda Winn, Tatum Kohlbrenner, Grace Hulslander, Avery Penoyer, Riley Taylor, Claire Nicholson, Mary Reith, Gia Anthony, Paige Alleztauzer, Kate Stanard, Bella DeRegis, Rachel Rowlee, Lily Walker, Grace Glowaki, Bella Roberson, Ali Anderson, Gracie Britton, Olivia Penoyer, Iris Vinal, and Quin Kenny; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, these outstanding players proved to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school and the entire community; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the CBA Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning the 2018 NYSPHSAA Class A Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned players and coaches of the CBA Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team.