

Sen. Griffo presents resolutions to Clarkson University's Women's Hockey Team in honor of championship win

JOSEPH A. GRIFFO December 7, 2018



State Sen. Joseph Griffo, R-I-C-Rome, recently visited with members and coaches of the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team and presented them with a resolution congratulating the team on capturing the 2018 NCAA Division I Ice Hockey Championship.

In March, Clarkson defeated Colgate University in a thrilling 2-1 victory in overtime at the Women's Frozen Four in Ridder Arena in Minneapolis, Minnesota, to win the title. The team has won three national championship titles in five years.

"The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Matt Desrosiers, Assistant Coaches Britni Smith and Tony Maci, and Strength and Conditioning Coach Tad Johnson, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence," the resolution reads in part. "The hallmarks of the Golden Knights Women's Hockey Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the Championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none."

The full text of the resolution is below:

Senate Resolution No. 4499

BY: Senator GRIFFO

CONGRATULATING the Clarkson University Women's
Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2018
NCAA Division I Ice Hockey Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in collegiate sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State: and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team of Potsdam, New York, upon the occasion of winning the 2018 NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Championship, on Sunday, March 18, 2018, at the Women's Frozen Four in Ridder Arena, in Minneapolis, Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, The No. 1-seed Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team captured their third national championship title in five years by defeating the No. 3-seed Colgate University in a thrilling 2-1 victory in overtime; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of green and gold, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Golden Knights throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 36-4-1 overall record, a Clarkson University record; and

WHEREAS, The Division I Women's Hockey Program was established in 2003; since then, the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team has made the ECAC playoffs every year they were eligible and won the ECAC regular season four times; the Golden Knights also won the ECAC tournament the last two years; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the ECAC, the Golden Knights have made it to the NCAA tournament seven times, and four times to the Frozen Four; and

WHEREAS, Within the 2017-2018 season, these exceptional women have amassed 25 league and national awards including Goalie, Forward, Defense and Player of the Year; four All-American Players; and three top 10 Finalists for the Patty Kazmaier Award; and

WHEREAS, These exceptional student athletes not only excel on the ice, but also in the classroom, with a team GPA of 3.2; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Matt Desrosiers, Assistant Coaches Britni Smith and Tony Maci, and Strength

and Conditioning Coach Tad Johnson, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Golden Knights Women's Hockey Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the Championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Through their hard work and dedication, these team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Matt Desrosiers and his dedicated staff have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Matt Desrosiers and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team: Avery Mitchell, Elizabeth Giguere, Lauren Lefler, Tia Stoddard, Michaela Pejzlova, Ella Shelton, Katherine Beaumier, Savannah Harmon, Amanda Titus, Michaela Boyle, Taylor Turnquist, Meaghan Hector, Loren Gabel, Kristy Pidgeon, Emma Keenan, Cassidy Vinkle, Katelyn Fournier, Rhyen McGill, Kelly Mariani, Josiane Pozzebon, Kia Castonguay, Jenna Brenneman, and Shea Tiley; Head Coach Matt Desrosiers, Assistant Coaches Britni Smith and Tony Maci, and Strength and Conditioning Coach Tad Johnson upon the occasion of capturing the 2018 NCAA Division I

Ice Hockey Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team, Head Coach Matt Desrosiers, Assistant Coaches Britni Smith and Tony Maci, and Strength and Conditioning Coach Tad Johnson.