

## Griffo, Buttenschon sworn into office

JOSEPH A. GRIFFO January 4, 2019



ROME – State Sen. Joseph Griffo, a Rome Republican, and Assemblywoman

Marianne Buttenschon, a Democrat from Marcy, were sworn into office today in front of
students, faculty and staff at George R. Staley Elementary School in Rome.

Oneida County Family Court Judge Randal Caldwell administered the oath of office to the two state legislators. After they were sworn into office, the legislators spoke to the children about their role in government.

During his time in the state Senate, Sen. Griffo has held swearing-in ceremonies at local schools throughout the county. After doing such events with former Assemblyman and now Congressman Anthony Brindisi, D-Utica, for several years, Sen. Griffo invited Assemblywoman Buttenschon to continue the tradition this year.

"I believe that civic engagement is an important value that should be instilled at a young age," Sen. Griffo said. "By bringing this ceremony to Staley Elementary School today, students can see how the process works and have the opportunity to ask questions about our job and how it impacts their lives. I am honored the people of the 47th Senate District elected me, and it is a pleasure to share this moment with our children."

"I am honored that Staley Elementary School has opened their community school to us today," Assemblywoman Buttenschon said. "New York State Community schools emphasis the importance of being a community hub. This is an excellent opportunity to have our ceremony where the students, faculty, staff, parents and administration can join us in our first formal step as we begin the 2019 legislative session."

In November, Sen. Griffo was reelected to the state Senate, where he represents parts of Oneida and St. Lawrence counties and all of Lewis County in the 47th Senate District. Assemblywoman Buttenschon, who is serving her first term in the state Assembly, represents the cities of Utica and Rome and the towns of Floyd, Frankfort, Marcy and Whitestown in the 119th Assembly District.

###