2019-J167

Senate Resolution No. 167

BY: Senator YOUNG

CONGRATULATING the Chautauqua Lake High School Softball Team upon the occasion of winning the 2018 New York State Class C Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can only be achieved through strenuous practice, team play, and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Chautauqua Lake High School Softball Team upon the occasion of winning the 2018 New York State Class C Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Chautauqua Lake Softball Team (Thunderbirds), captured the Class C State Title on June 9, 2018, at the New York State Public High School Athletic Association's Softball Championships, held at Moreau Recreational Park, in South Glens Falls; the Thunderbirds defeated Pine Plains 9-3 to become state champions; and

WHEREAS, This was truly a dream season after a second loss in the league, the Thunderbirds rebounded to win 11 consecutive games to claim the CCAC Division One League Title, the Section VI Class C Title, the Far West Regional Title, and finally the coveted Class C State Title; in addition to the team's success on the field, they have been just as

successful in the classroom, by being recognized as a Scholar Athlete Team in Section VI; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the dedication and efforts of Coaches Susan Teets, Pat Paul, Mike Torrance, and Athletic Director, Joshua Liddell; and

WHEREAS, The team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends, and the entire community; they are comprised of All-Stars who have earned important distinctions in the region; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be a tremendous combination of talents, and have inspired and brought pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to publicly recognize those high school athlete-scholars who have achieved notable success in this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Thunderbirds: Cameryn Hawkins, Olivia Anderson, Cianna Braymiller, Katelyn Fardink, Chadelynn Johnson, Kendra Keyser, Breanna Hopkins, Rachel Shioleno, Lily Studley, Sophie Woodis, Mackenzie Zemcik, Megan Fischer, Sienna Collins, and Jenna Waters; and Coaches Susan Teets, Pat Paul, and Mike Torrance; and Athletic Director, Joshua Liddell on their outstanding season and State Championship win; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to each team member; Coaches Susan Teets, Pat Paul, and Mike Torrance, and Athletic Director, Joshua Liddell.