2023-J166

Senate Resolution No. 166

BY: Senator MAY

CONGRATULATING the Syracuse University Men's Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the NCAA Division 1 Men's Soccer Championship on December 12, 2022

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in college sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Syracuse University Men's Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2022 NCAA Men's College Cup; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the number 3 ranked Orange defeated number 13 ranked Indiana University in a thrilling 7-6 victory on penalty kicks after playing to a 2-2 tie in two overtimes to capture its first ever Championship on Monday, December 12, 2022, at the WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's color of orange, the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Syracuse University Men's Soccer Team throughout their journey as they ended their dream season with an impressive 19-2-4 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as soccer, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, and mental toughness, Head Coach Ian McIntyre, Associate Head Coach Jukka Masalin and Assistant Coach Sean Lawlor worked hard to hone the skills of this outstanding team, teaching these incredible athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Ian McIntyre and all of the outstanding athletes on the Syracuse University Men's Soccer Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Syracuse University Men's Soccer Team: Sam Coss, Russell Shealy, Christian Curti, Abdi Salim, Noah Singelmann, Amferny Sinclair, Julio Fulcar, Curt Calov, Jeorgio Kocevski, Julius Rauch, Nathan Opoku, Lorenzo Boselli, Gavin Wigg, Colin Biros, Levonte Johnson, Louie Bulger, Michal Gradus, Giona Leibold, Camden Holbrook, Buster Sjoberg, Trevor Carabin, Stephen Betz, Olu Oyegunle, Jackson Glenn, Andrea DiBlasio, Parker Kump, Tony Shaw, Aidan Arber, Francesco Pagano, Antonino Pagano, Jahiem Wickham, Noah Lechelt, Marc Chin, and Lucas Daunhauer; Head Coach, Ian McIntyre; Associate Head Coach, Jukka

Masalin; and Assistant Coach, Sean Lawlor on their outstanding season; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Syracuse University Men's Soccer Team, Head Coach Ian McIntyre, Associate Head Coach Jukka Masalin and Assistant Coach Sean Lawlor.