2023-J167

Senate Resolution No. 167

BY: Senator MAY

CONGRATULATING the Syracuse Strong Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the Gridiron

Developmental Football League (GDFL) National

Championship on September 3, 2022

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to those exemplary athletes and organizations that excel in professional athletics, distinguishing themselves through notable achievements and representing the great Empire State with pride and determination; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Syracuse Strong Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the Gridiron Developmental Football League National Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the number three ranked Syracuse Strong clinched the Championship after defeating the number one ranked Inglewood Blackhawks in a thrilling 24-20 victory in Las Vegas, Nevada on Saturday, September 3, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the team's colors, family members, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported Syracuse Strong throughout their journey as they ended their regular season with an impressive overall record; and

WHEREAS, In addition to this monumental win, Syracuse Strong was the 2020 Runner-up of the AAA AFNT National Championship, 2019 AAA AFNT National Champion, 2019 Northeastern Football Alliance League Champion, 2019 Northeastern Football Alliance Eastern Division Champion, 2019 Battle for Route Five Trophy Winner, and the 2018 Glory Bowl III Champions; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Syracuse Strong
Football Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head
Coach/Offensive Coordinator Marty Clanton, Defensive
Coordinator/Defensive Line Coach Jason Howard, Defensive Assistant Matt
Jones, Wide-Receiver/Special Teams Coach Derrick Williams, Runningback
Coach Rodney Thompson, Strength and Conditioning Coach Tex Jones and
Stats Coach Lee Jennings, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected
for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Syracuse Strong Football Team, from the opening game of the season to their outstanding win in the Gridiron Bowl XIII, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, and of honor, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Sports competitions instill the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment; Head Coach Marty Clanton, his coaching staff and the Syracuse Strong Football Team's outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their organization; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Syracuse Strong Football Team: Martia Rufus, DePaul Crowell, Dewayne Gordon, Josh Thomas, KJ White, Shakem

Buckmon, Laleak Hamilton, LaQuan Rouse, Rashad Burns, Kesean Sparks, Pauleyike Porch, Shaguan Kirby, Josh Powell, Lorenzo Brown, Sultani Campbell, John Elliott, Aaron Smith, Zavon Watkins, Alexander Heath, Jeff McDuffie, Daquell Simmons, Patrick Twum, Ronald Pierce, Jr., Stephon Sua'rez, Damion Blue, Gemini Amey, Mike Flickinger, Rickeem Boyd, Emmanuel Butler, Curtis Chaplin, Cameron Jackson, Kevin Lockhart, Elbert Maeweather, Tom Stadnicki, Kahari Alford, Ryan Thurston, Nazere Jones, Ray Barker, Dalton Cooley, Tim King Jr., Raquen Morris, Dwayne Shaw, Silvano Roman, Nicholas LaPointe, Morris Sledge, Dominique Harris; Head Coach/Offensive Coordinator, Marty Clanton; Assistant Coach, Ed Watkins; Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Line Coach, Jason Howard; Defensive Assistant, Matt Jones; Wide-Receiver/Special Teams Coach, Derrick Williams; Runningback Coach, Rodney Thompson; Strength and Conditioning Coach, Tex Jones; Line Coach, James Wison; Line Coach Tex Hamilton; and Stats Coach, Lee Jennings on their outstanding season; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Syracuse Strong Football Team, Head Coach/Offensive Coordinator, Marty Clanton; Assistant Coach, Ed Watkins; Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Line Coach, Jason Howard; Defensive Assistant, Matt Jones; Wide-Receiver/Special Teams Coach, Derrick Williams; Runningback Coach, Rodney Thompson; Strength and Conditioning Coach, Tex Jones; Line Coach, James Wison; Line Coach, Tex Hamilton; Stats Coach, Lee Jennings; General Manager, Chris Gormon; and Team President, Khalid Bey.