2023-J603

Senate Resolution No. 603

BY: Senator HELMING

COMMEMORATING the 200th Anniversary of Wayne County, New York

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to honor and commemorate the distinguished histories of the communities which comprise the noble body of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 200th Anniversary of Wayne County, New York, to be recognized with a Commemoration Event to take place Tuesday, April 11, 2023, in recognition of the proud history and promising future of Wayne County; and

WHEREAS, On April 11, 1823, the New York State Legislature and Governor Joseph C. Yates acted to form Wayne County from Seneca and Ontario Counties in accordance with the State Constitution; the County was named in honor of Revolutionary War General Anthony Wayne; and

WHEREAS, Wayne County was the territorial hunting, fishing, and gathering grounds of the Cayuga and Seneca peoples of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy; and

WHEREAS, Wayne County's creeks, rivers, bays, and the Great Lake Ontario were major factors in the first early settlers staying here; and WHEREAS, The soil was rich and the climate conducive to agricultural development, leading to a blossoming fruit belt, contributing to Wayne County being the number one producer of apples in New York State; and

WHEREAS, The opening of the Erie Canal led to expansion of communities along the County's banks and the development of industry during the 19th Century, making Wayne County an early leader in many commercial and agricultural endeavors; and

WHEREAS, The waters and rich soil led to agricultural development, commercial enterprises, and communities centered on rural living across the varied terrain of drumlins, mucklands, creeks, and open bodies of water; and

WHEREAS, The population, now grown to over 90,000 people, supports a wide array of educational, recreational, commercial, and employment opportunities; and

WHEREAS, Wayne County has had times of great economic prosperity and great economic strife, but remains committed to its larger industries, agriculture, and tourism, while supporting the efforts of smaller businesses, not-for-profits, and other groups within its borders that create a diverse network of employers; and

WHEREAS, Wayne County celebrates its Bicentennial year of 2023 with many projects, events, and programs, providing numerous opportunities to

explore, discover, visit, and celebrate the wealth of historic, cultural, and artistic opportunities throughout the County; and

WHEREAS, This momentous occasion welcomes people to come together to share stories, honor history, celebrate local heritage, and appreciate this unique county, its 15 towns, seven villages, and countless hamlets; this celebration is an opportunity to instill a sense of community and county-wide pride, develop a richer understanding of the County's past, recognize the present, and envision the future of the beloved Wayne County whom many call home; and

WHEREAS, Of historic origin, and remaining fruitful over the ebb and flow of decades of growth and change, Wayne County continues to provide the quintessential quality of life for its residents; and

WHEREAS, The residents of Wayne County have a bright outlook for the future of their community, which remains a beautiful place in which to live and raise a family; and

WHEREAS, In recognition of Wayne County's rich history and enduring contribution to the State of New York, this Legislative Body is proud to pay tribute to this spirited County upon the occasion of its 200th Anniversary; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 200th Anniversary of Wayne County, recognizing the significance of the role it continues to play in the life of the community of the State of New York; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to The Wayne County Bicentennial Committee Members, led by co-chairs Gene Bavis and Rosa Fox.