2023-K258

Assembly Resolution No. 258

BY: M. of A. Jean-Pierre

RECOGNIZING the honorees of the New York State Legislative Women's Caucus upon the occasion of its Annual Luncheon on March 30, 2023, in conjunction with the observance of Women's History Month

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those women of achievement within this great Empire State who have made strong contributions to their communities and who inspire others through their model citizenship; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to recognize the honorees of the New York State Legislative Women's Caucus upon the occasion of its Annual Luncheon on Thursday, March 30, 2023, in conjunction with the observance of Women's History Month; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Legislative Women's Caucus (LWC) is a bi-partisan, bi-cameral organization of women elected to the State Legislature; and

WHEREAS, The Legislative Women's Caucus was founded in 1983 by 22 women; Assemblymember Helene Weinstein, a founding member and former Caucus Chair, continues to serve this vital organization today; and

WHEREAS, Over the past four decades since its inception, women

legislators, through the Legislative Women's Caucus, have advocated for a range of policies which promote the equity and inclusion of women, as well as fought for increased resources for women, children, and families throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, As a bipartisan organization, the Legislative Women's Caucus focuses on issues all of its members embrace and promote, including childcare, homecare, equity and mental health; furthermore, members are invited to share their suggestions and concerns, and continuously strive to advocate for the women and children of the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Legislative Women's Caucus has 73 members: 53 Assembly members and 20 Senators; truly a historical milestone, this year for the first time in State Legislature history, there are 31 women serving in leadership/chair positions in the Assembly and 17 in the Senate; and

WHEREAS, Each year, members of the Legislative Women's Caucus honor women throughout New York State in celebration of Women's History Month; this year, Assemblymember Didi Barrett honors Thalia Cassuto;
Assemblymember Rodneyse Bichotte Hermelyn honors Esther Debbie Louise;
Assemblymember Marianne Buttenschon honors The Honorable Bernadette
Clark; Assemblymember Marjorie Byrnes honors Lynne Mignemi;
Assemblymember Monique Chandler-Waterman honors Elaine Reid;
Assemblymember Sarah Clark honors Armett Barnes; Assemblymember Catalina
Cruz honors Helen Arteaga; Assemblymember Taylor Darling honors Lynette
Carr Hicks; Assemblymember Patricia A. Fahy honors Denyse Mackey;

Assemblymember Emily E. Gallagher honors Alexis Hope Krause;
Assemblymember Jodi A. Giglio honors Yvette Aguiar; Assemblymember
Deborah J. Glick honors Noreen Doyle; Assemblymember Jessica

Gonzalez-Rojas honors Nicole Panettieri; Assemblymember Aileen M. Gunther honors Agnes Van Put; Assemblymember Pamela J. Hunter honors Dr. Linda Lemura; Assemblymember Alicia L. Hyndman honors Leslie Spigner; Assemblymember Chantel Jackson honors Lorette Young; Assemblymember Kimberly Jean-Pierre honors Sondra Cockrin; Assemblymember Latoya Joyner honors Cleva Davis; Assemblymember Anna R. Kelles honors Carol Kemmen; Assemblymember Nikki Lucas honors Kathleen Lucas; Assemblymember Jen Lunsford honors Anita Mance; Assemblymember Donna A. Lupardo honors Josephine Burrell; Assemblymember Karen M. McMahon honors Dr. Kenyani Shareen Davis; Assemblymember Amy R. Paulin honors Joanne Wallenstein; Assemblymember Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes honors Ruth Bryant; Assemblymember Stacey G. Pheffer Amato honors former Assemblymember Audrey I. Pheffer; Assemblymember Karines Reyes honors Beverly Roberts; Assemblymember Nily D. Rozic honors Judy Gross; Assemblymember Rebecca A. Seawright honors Kathy Jolowizc; Assemblymember MaryJane Shimsky honors Stephanie Marquesano; Assemblymember Gina Sillitti honors Claire Brezel; Assemblymember Jo Anne Simon honors Rolanda Telesford-Hastick; Assemblymember Latrice Walker honors Lisa Kenner; Assemblymember Monica P. Wallace honors Lynn Magistrale; Assemblymember Mary Beth Walsh honors Sally Ellms; Assemblymember Helene E. Weinstein honors Raisa Chernina; Assemblymember Jaime R. Williams honors Jennifer Troman; Assemblymember Carrie Woerner honors Maggie Fronk; Assemblymember Stefani L. Zinerman honors Khadija Tudor; Senator Samra G. Brouk honors Sherita Bullock; Senator Iwen Chu honors Elizabeth Culkin; Senator Nathalia Fernandez honors Laura Caruso; Senator Michelle Hinchey honors Michelle Romalin Deyo; Senator Monica Martinez honors Valeria St. Benard; Senator Rachel May honors Professor Tula Goenka; Senator Shelley Mayer honors Naomi Brickel; Senator Roxanne J. Persaud honors Lucina Clarke; Senator Jessica Scarcella Spanton honors Heather Williams; Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins honors Symra Brandon; and Senator Lea Webb honors Mary Clark; and

WHEREAS, Rare indeed is the impressive dedication shown by an individual for the benefit of others which these extraordinary women have displayed throughout their lives; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when individuals and organizations of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of the State of New York; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to recognize the honorees of the New York State Legislative Women's Caucus upon the occasion of its Annual Luncheon on March 30, 2023, in conjunction with the observance of Women's History Month; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the New York State Legislative Women's Caucus and the aforementioned honorees.