2023-J702

Senate Resolution No. 702

BY: Senator HARCKHAM

CONGRATULATING the Mahopac High School Varsity
Cheerleading Team upon the occasion of capturing the
Intermediate Coed Varsity Crowd Performance-Small
category National Cheerleaders Association High
School Nationals Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Mahopac High School Varsity Cheerleading Team upon the occasion of capturing the Intermediate Coed Varsity Crowd Performance Small category National Cheerleaders Association High School Nationals Championship on Sunday, January 22, 2023, in Dallas, Texas; and

WHEREAS, During the finals, the Mahopac Indians earned 96.375 points to edge out the second-place team to rank first, winning the title; and

WHEREAS, To celebrate this monumental win, parents and school officials gathered at Mahopac High School on Monday, January 23, 2023, to welcome the champions back home; and

WHEREAS, All of the outstanding athletes on the Mahopac High School Varsity Cheerleading Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Mahopac High School Varsity Cheerleading Team: Dakota Caballero, Ariana Canariato, Mia Caldarella, Isabella Chiodi, Gianna Cirelli, Kate Conklin, Cierra Davis, Jamie Genario, Julianna Greco, Lilah Greco, Owen Klein, Alexis LeBlanc, Keira MacDowell, Isabel Mariella, Alexa Palushevic, Brooke Plath, Bruce Procel, and Camila Quijada; Head Coach Jamine DeCosmo; and Assistant Coach Eliza Cintron upon the occasion of capturing the Intermediate Coed Varsity Crowd Performance-Small category National Cheerleaders Association High School Nationals Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Mahopac High School Varsity

Cheerleading Team, Head Coach Jamine DeCosmo, and Assistant Coach Eliza Cintron.