Senate Resolution No. 1967

BY: Senator TEDISCO

CONDEMNING Russia's invasion into Ukraine

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to honor and respect the sovereignty of independent nations as well as their citizenry; and

WHEREAS, It is right and just to condemn those nations who violate international law and engage in acts of aggression against such independent nations, their civilian population and their democratically elected governments; and

WHEREAS, Ukraine is an independent republic and has been separate from Russia since the fall of the Soviet Union via the globally recognized Act of Declaration of Independence of Ukraine dated August 24, 1991; and

WHEREAS, In violation of the principles of a United Nations Charter, Russia seized control of Ukraine's Crimean peninsula after an invasion that began on February 28, 2014; and

WHEREAS, For decades Ukraine was under the totalitarian control of the Soviet Union which led to widespread oppression of its citizens including famine and genocide from 1932-1933, causing the death of millions; and

WHEREAS, NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg has declared Russia's actions have threatened peace and security in Europe and has called on Russia to stop its military activities and its threats; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body, representing the communities of the State of New York, want the people of Ukraine to know our thoughts and prayers are with them as they fight to defend their homeland; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to call on New York State's Congressional delegation to condemn Russia's invasion into Ukraine or be subjected to the imposition of severe sanctions against Russia, and sponsor a Congressional Resolution calling for Russia to withdraw its invasion forces from Ukraine immediately; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to President Joe Biden, Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi, House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy, Senate Majority Leader Charles E. Schumer, Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, and each of the respective 27 Members of New York's Congressional delegation, as well as Senator Kirsten Gillibrand.